Time to find the Beach!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Margaret River
September 11th 2013
Published: September 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Day 3 – Thursday



Another long day and an even bigger adventure, by waking up at beginning our journey by 8am we set off heading for Margaret River. On our way down we stopped at a chocolate factory, this was a great idea until there was free samples, filling our pockets and carrying on the journey to Candy Cow, well known for its sweets and fudge! Despite feeling like I was back in England by having several cow statues surrounding me.



Next we began our wine tour, we started by going to a Duckstein Brewery, a very beautiful place with a lake and a very welcoming place, where we received free samples of different ciders and beer. Nothing to complain about! We also went to Driftwood Winery where we got to experience wine tasting, which I learnt that you are meant to mix around and smell before sipping, not just finish it in one gulp… can you tell I’m a student?! We explored the grounds before heading to a couple more breweries and wineries.



After a few tastings we headed down to sugarloaf, were a couple of our friends we were with (T.V and Lloyd) showed us where they like to jump off rocks into the ocean in summer. Seems like a good idea, but didn’t look it from where I was sitting. It was a very beautiful place and an interesting climb to get to some interesting views. We then carried on and we were shown a couple more beaches along the way.



We headed down to the beach in Margaret river, were Carla and I laid under the stars and I saw my first shooting star, the satellites moving and a clear look at the Milky Way which made the night one to remember. That night I experienced my first night in a hostel at Margaret River Lodges, they seemed very reasonable and a nice place despite being in bed by 9pm, and waking up again at 11.30pm thinking it was nearly morning.







Day 4 – Friday



Okay so beach day! Heading back up to Busselton from Margaret River and hitting every beach pretty much on the way. We started at Gnarabup beach this one being very close to Margaret River, where we went for a walk along the beach and were able to explore and found some nice lookout views across the beach, an ideal photo point. Next we went to Yallingup Beach, this was another lovely spot with some great waves and lots of surfers in action to get some photos off, although they were along way off. I was also previously warned about Bobtails being well known in this area, me being me figured I wouldn’t see any so ran off…Well I learnt my lesson after nearly stepping on one of their heads. From then on being very careful of my surroundings I carried on taking photos.



Stopping at a few more beaches along the way like Smith Beach and Bunker Bay we finally reached Eagle Bay. The water here was like I’ve never seen before so blue and clear. Whilst we were here we got a dog name Cooper. Not to sure where he come from, but after calling his owners we played along side him on the beach, whilst attempting to eat a picnic. Such a perfect beach that I would absolutely love to go back to. Shelley Beach was another one of my favourites. This was a secluded beach that was beautifully set out with interesting trees and lovely rocks creating mini rock pools, which I couldn’t help but put my feet in, this was such a calm area that you could just sit there and soak it up for hours.



We then returned back to Sugarloaf to get a few more pictures, although these weren’t so successful because of the time of the day and lighting, potentially somewhere I would return for a sunset image and experiment more with slow shutters to capture the waves crashing.



After all the beaches we went to Simmo’s the Icecreamery. There must have been 30 if not more different flavoured ice creams; this was a very hard decision to choose just 2 flavours! At this place they had some animals and a nice little play area for children, although we never made it to the animals due to there being a swamp that I managed to walk straight through the middle of.

Our last stop for the night was back at the Jetty in Busselton. A beautiful spot where we got to enjoy another sunset although this was a much better one that our previous visit, giving me the opportunity for some more photos. To end the night we decided to enjoy the swings and playground near the beach.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb