Roadtrip 1, Day 3: Wine tour!


Advertisement
Published: April 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It turns out it wasn't a good place to spend the night and we found ourselves being confronted by another park ranger. This campervanning lark is not as easy as you'd think. Anyway, we had planned to spend tonight in a proper campsite so we knew we wouldn't upset anyone today at least.

Margaret River is right in the middle of the South-west's main wine producing region. As you drive through the area you see a sign for another winery at least every 100 yards. It seemed a shame therefore not to sample some of the region's produce.

Del and I booked ourselves on to a wine tour. We got picked up by Silvano at 10:30 and headed off to the first of five wineries. Wine at 11 o'clock is the life for me! By lunchtime I was more than a little tipsy. Lunch was served at a really nice winery (by far the best of the day) and a few more glasses of white helped to wash down the various bits of bush tucker (kangaroo included). The excitement of it all had me putting myself forward to try wigity (spelling) grubs. In hindsight, not getting chosen was a good thing (apparently they taste like macadamia nuts and I'd rather have them) but at the time I was quite disappointed. Like I said, I was more than a little tipsy.

The drinking after lunch was much more paced and we stopped off at chocolate and cheese factories. By the time we made it to the last stop - a brewery - I was pretty much sober, all the more reason to get the taster paddle I thought.

Kangaroo watch: cured and sliced on my plate...and a family of real life roos!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0231s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1015kb