Happy wait


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Karratha
January 21st 2012
Published: January 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well 39 days until I leave Karratha - and yes I'm counting. I was asked recently if I will miss the Pilbara and the answer? Nope. I don't want any Pilbara lovers to get offended here, but if we're honest, and I do always try to be, the Pilbara is great but Karratha not so much. I agree a place is what you make of it, but that doesn't make it any prettier, or have better restaurants or more sporting facilities. The 'I'll do anything for money' vibe is also unpleasant.

They are the negatives, but there are many positives. Down to earth easy going people, life is full of simple pleasures and can be as busy or relaxed as you choose and.... well... it's close to Exmouth.

So I'm chuffed I've had the chance to live up here and explore the surroundings, but it is on to new and exciting adventures.

I'm heading to South Africa to help a guy, who on the outside, appears to be living my dream. He is registered for a Ph.D. and studying leopards in the Swartberg area North east of Cape Town. I'm not sure what role I'll be playing, except for being the grunt 😊 However it will be great learning and I hope will help me decide what direction to take in the future.

After I finish up in South Africa, I'm going to play. Visit friends in France, UK and USA and hopefully get some tickets to the Olympics.

I'll be writing on this page about my experiences all round the world, but focusing on the project in South Africa. It's going to be a great year!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb