Kambalda


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Kalgoorlie
September 19th 2010
Published: September 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

While Sarah and Jason were at work I headed up to the Red Hill Lookout which is in Kambalda. You can see the big salt lakes from up there. Kambalda is split into two parts, Kambalda East and Kambalda West. I did a little drive around to check out the place. I picked Sarah up from work and then we picked up the girls from daycare.

On Saturday we decided to head into Kalgoorlie to do some shopping. Jason was working this weekend. So Sarah, me, Lucinda and Isobel had a girls day shopping around the town. We stopped at Mt. Charlotte lookout which is also where the town's water supply is piped into. Lucinda had a great time with my camera taking tons of pictures. We had lunch in town at the cafe which was really good food. My burger was HUGE.

Naomi came over on Saturday night and we had some wine and lamb and Sarah made my mom's famous taco dip mmmmmm.

Sunday was Coolgardie day with a parade and everything. Coolgardie is another small town in the outback and is about an hour away from Kambalda. So we took the girls over there. The parade wasn't a big one but it was ok. They had bagpipers and a couple of floats ad then a parade of old souped up cars. Interesting. So much like St. Walburg haha. They had lots of things set up to walk around and look at. We stopped in the park for some lunch and then the girls got to go on a ride each. Lucinda went down the big slide and caught a bit of air on the one bump. Quite funny but she loved it. Isobel went on one that goes around in a circle and they get to pretend they are driving.

But the girls didn't sleep on the way home so we had some grumpy girls when we got home. On Monday I just stayed at Sarah's so I could get my stuff all packed and sorted. I made them all dinner. Lucinda helped me a bit with it and set the table for me.

It was a great visit and so great to see family again!! Sarah took me in to Kalgoorlie early on Tuesday morning and dropped me off at the train. Southern Cross is about 2 hours by train from Kalgoorlie but only about an hour and a bit by car. I'm sure I will Sarah and family again soon. I'm planning to be there with them for Christmas. Will let you all know.

My barmaid advenures are about to begin!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Sarah's land roverSarah's land rover
Sarah's land rover

My ride for a few days


Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.042s; cc: 16; qc: 23; dbt: 0.1118s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb