A week in Coral Bay


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Coral Bay
July 31st 2011
Published: August 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well I hopped off the tour bus here in Coral Bay and it's been such an amazing week! The weather has been PERFECT. The beach is a 5 minute walk from our hostel and you can just walk off the beach and into the water and you are swimming with coral and heaps of fish. So stunning! So, i've been snorkeling and laying on a beach for most of my time here. This is the life!!!

I have been working at the hostel as well though to be able to stay here for free. We have to put in 2 hours a day doing the most random of jobs I tell you. The kitchen here gets cleaned 3 times a day! It's spotless, we also sweep the decks, scrub the picnic tables, vacuum the hallways...just little things like that. Some of them have to be done at certain times and some can be done anytime. So we work our day around that.

I went on a snorkel trip one of the days and we went out on a catamaran. So much fun! We went to the outer reef where the water was deeper and the coral was healthier and bigger fish. I even swam with a sea turtle for a bit but they are really fast! Saw heaps of parrot fish and angel fish. The coral is so beautiful. We had a bbq on our boat as well for lunch.

There is another girl here cleaning as well and she is from Ireland. It was her birthday on Sunday but we celebrated it on Saturday night. A bunch of pilots in the army were staying the night at our hostel so we joined in with them and had a good night. After the bar in our hostel closed we drove down to the boat jetty and we were walking on the rocks and stupid me was wearing flip flops and manage to loose my footing completely and bailed out on the rocks landing on my knees and my right hand. I managed to scratch my left arm, break 2 nails, scratch my left knee, really badly scrape my right knee (it was bleeding profusely!), and take like a chunk of skin out of the palm of my right hand.

Not so awesome. But the military boys luckily had a first aid kit in the van and bandaged me all up. The next morning one of the other guys staying here, Nick, from Montreal cleaned up my wounds with some antiseptic cream he has and bandaged me up again. It's not so pretty and it hurts a bit to walk but I should be fine and hopefully it heals quickly!

It is our last night in Coral Bay but we still have all of tomorrow to spend here before heading off to Exmouth tomorrow night. Hopefully I can see and swim with some whale sharks!!!!!! Cross your fingers for me!!!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



1st August 2011

OOOOOO
Hello, did not show your owies. Hope you are feeling better soon.

Tot: 0.249s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 74; dbt: 0.1396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb