Snorkelling at Ningaloo Reef


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Coral Bay
July 25th 2005
Published: August 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Wow, Coral Bay is a beautiful idyllic wee place, I love it, it's my favourite place in Australia! There is just one street, a campsite, hostel and small hotel and a lovely wee beach.

We spent three days here enjoying the tranquillity and beauty and also making friends with some fish.

We had swithered about going diving but you have to go on a 3-day course before and it's a little pricey so we went for the snorkelling option which was absolutely amazing.

We were taken out to the Ningaloo Reef on a glass bottom boat so we got a sneaky peak of the wonders beneath before we took the plunge.

It was a beautiful sunny day and I bet you imagine the water would be a nice temperature, well you would be very wrong, it was bloody freezing!!

Both of us being snorkelling novices, it took a wee bit of getting used to but after a few minutes we were off to explore the magical kingdom down at the bottom of the see, just like in the 'Little Mermaid'. The coral was amazing and so were the fish, there were so many varieties of colourful
Some of the fish we encounteredSome of the fish we encounteredSome of the fish we encountered

amongst the coral at Ningaloo Reef.
fish.

I even saw a shark!! Just a wee one mind, although I think I may have stopped breathing for a minute when I caught the glint in it's eye. Common sense told me that this shark was too small to kill any of us so I decided against shrieking 'Shark, Shark Get out of the Water' at the top of my voice and I calmly swam towards the boat to check with Captain Bird's Eye that this was just an overgrown fishy. He assured me it was a harmless Reef Shark, Phew!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Neemo'sNeemo's
Neemo's

in their United 'away' colours
Up close and personalUp close and personal
Up close and personal

with some snapper
My dinner on the leftMy dinner on the left
My dinner on the left

Fionas' on the right, tasty as.
Stag coral on the leftStag coral on the left
Stag coral on the left

Rose bud on the right


Tot: 0.296s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 13; qc: 82; dbt: 0.0996s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb