Finally made it to Broome!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Broome
August 16th 2011
Published: August 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Broome is a really nice town. I was expecting it to be bigger. What makes Broome unique is the main part of town is in one part and quite a distance away is the cable beach resort area. There is a bus that goes between the two parts but costs $3.50 each way! Australia is so expensive!

I spent my first couple of days staying out in Cable beach. But I ended up moving to a place closer to town so it was easier for me to get around. I wasn't interested in sitting on the beach with these broken ribs. I met back up with Ulli and we went to check out the staircase to the moon on my second night there. If you've never heard of it google it!

It's a pretty cool sight. It's a natural phenomenon that happens once a month with the full moon rising over the mud flats giving an optical illusion of a staircase to the moon. To me it didn't look like a staircase but it was still really cool to see. Heaps of people come here just to see it. It appears in a few other countries as well. I didn't get any good pictures of it as my little camera couldn't capture it! There is also a small market set up around the viewing area.

The world's oldest operating picture gardens is located here in Broome. Half of it is undercover and the other half is open air. We attempted to go to a movie on my last night there but didn't plan ahead enough and it was sold out before we even got there. But the next day we were able to go inside and see it for free.

Broome is also home to the pearl luggers. There are a few pearl farms around and heaps of pearl jewelry shops. I'm not a huge fan of pearls but I did see a few things i'd like but couldn't afford! Sorry mom I know you'd have loved it all but my budget couldn't afford it!

I decided to take the greyhound bus to Broome from here and booked my ticket to go on thursday evening. It's a night bus. My pass allows me to hop on and off anywhere I want along the route giving me 90 days to get to Darwin. My first stop will be Kununurra.

Oh yes, let me just tell all of you about my smarts! I found a discount store here in Broome and bought one of those grandma shopping carts. I pulled the bag off that it came with and voila strapped my big backpack onto it and now I have a bag on wheels. No more needing the kindness of strangers! It works really good for $22! I just need it to last the next month or so.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

boab treeboab tree
boab tree

native tree of africa brought here. Aboriginals call it the upside down tree because it looks like the branches should be the roots.


Tot: 0.291s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1821s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb