Broome


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Broome
August 6th 2005
Published: December 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Caught up on a lot of sleep and then blew the budget on an amazing fishing trip as I've ALWAYS wanted to go big game fishing - well, it wasn't quite that exciting, especially as i managed to catch diddly squat!! But we did see a huge manta ray that came right up to the boat and absolutely stacks of whales, including 2 that were sleeping side by side, and another one that was really curious and circled the boat for ages, diving underneath us (slightly worrying) and coming up really close. We were so lucky and the guys on the boat taking us out who are there every day said they'd never seen anything like it. I kept losing my bait, so I don't think my fishing skills would keep me alive if i was ever on a desert island. Although, at one point my rod practically snapped in half as there was something humungous on the end of it, all I could do was hold on to it and try not to let it fly out of my hands. Of course by the time i'd faffed around for a bit it had escaped off the hook and i lost it, so I never even got to see what it was :-( Still, it was really good fun.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0942s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb