Blown Away


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Albany
January 1st 2011
Published: January 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

No photos for a few posts sorry, I'll update the website soon too, didn't work last time.

We've now had two days in Albany, yesterday was spent in town, at a the great local museum and doing some much needed shopping and washing. It was while looking at toys in K-Mart that I was blown away for the 2nd time in the day (the first time was when the south westerly came up and near blew the camper off the hill), I received a call from a private number, Denmark police with my wallet! I couldn't believe it and the cash still in it, yes!

It seems you can set your clock by the wind here at Glen Echo, as the sun goes down the wind goes down, as the sun comes up so does the wind. So this morning we ate breakfast, got dressed and got off the hill. I dropped Bel and the kids in Albany and then took myself off to Denmark to collect my wallet, I tried to give the honest lady who found it a bottle of wine or something but sadly I couldn't contact her. Denmark also has a brilliant award winning pie shop, so I bought us each a pie and headed back to Albany.

Back in Albany I picked up the family and we took a trip out to The Gap, The Natural Bridge and Frenchmans Bay. Lachlan was given a stern talking to about getting to close to the edge before we got to The Gap and put under strict warning that if he didn't listen he'd never be allowed to get out of the car again. The Gap is just a massive gap in the tall cliffs that line the coast just here, the cliffs are probably 50m high and sheer. Should you happen to survive the fall into the freezing, pounding water it's a good 2-3km swim to anywhere that you might get out, spectacular but dangerous for the unwary. Right beside The Gap is the Natural Bridge, a massive pile of rocks that have somehow managed to wedge themselves together over another gap and form a bridge. Frenchmans bay was pretty but we didn't get out of the car.

Finishing with Frenchmans Bay we drove back to town and took a look at the monument on the hill overlooking Albany before going out to Emu Point for a cuppa. Albany and the Princess Royal Harbour is really spectacular, it is a great deep blue waterway dotted with islands and peninsulas, the only issue I have is the incessant cold South Westerly. Emu Point is really pretty with a cafe that Belinda assures me has really, really good coffee. As we sat and had our hot drinks we could just imagine how nice it would be on a warm, still day. I wonder if they ever have them here or if the locals can only imagine that as well.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.033s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb