Phillip Island


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Philip Island
February 16th 2012
Published: February 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

It’s lovely here. I had imagined the island to be quite a distance from the mainland but it’s only separated by a small bridge. Nevertheless, you do feel like you’re on an island and in a somewhat special place. It’s clean and neat and the locals are friendly. We stayed a couple of days, checking out the beaches, watching the little penguins return to their burrows, visiting the Rhyll trout & bush tucker farm (we really like the little North Eastern village of Rhyll) and hanging out in laid-back Cowes.

Property is temptingly cheap on the island. I spotted a gorgeous three-bedroom townhouse for less than the one-bedroom shoeboxes that we were looking at in Melbourne last year. Having said that, for now we are more than happy with the prime real estate that is our van :-)

A memorable Phillip Island event for me is that I ate chicken for the first time in 17 years. I’m not quite sure what came over me, but I think I’m going to reintroduce other meat too. Much to the relief of Dean, who hasn’t much enjoyed dining out with a wheat-free, dairy-free vegetarian for the last six and a bit years.

We also went for a cruise on our bicycles – and I’ve decided to look out for another bike! I spent many hours lovingly restoring this one after finding it on the side of the road, but some things are just beyond saving.

Sadly we didn’t have our motorbikes with us, otherwise we would have gone for a spin around the famous Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit. Next time perhaps!

THE TRUTH (by Dean Glasgow)

Nothing tastes better than barbequed Phillip Island Penguins on skewers… although one does need at least three to make a decent meal!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0764s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb