The end of the beginning...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Moe
December 22nd 2012
Published: December 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello all,

Quite a bit has happened since last time! Ill pick up from where we left off as that would be the logical thing to do...

Spain was great and it was time to move on from madrid to Paris. To do this we had to catch an overnight train. I hated it! We were crammed into the smallest space with two other people and I am not one for getting claustrophobic but I was so ready to get off that train when we pulled up at Paris station. At least we can say it was an experience! another thing to add to the list of things we have done that we didnt really want to do (that list ended up being quite long)

Paris is a beautiful and stunning city even in the winter. It was ridiculously cold however it was a great place to walk around and we were lucky enough to find a couple we could stay with for the whole week which ended up being cheaper than any decent hostel. They were our age and from Romania and they were the nicest people we felt so at home with them. We saw all the main things I guess being a tourist in Paris has to see - arch de triomphe, Eiffel Tower, love locks bridge, moulin rogue and champ- élysées street. We also did what Jaime has dreamt of for her whole existence- yes we visited Disneyland. I felt like a parent with a child gone wild visiting that place with Jaime! I have to admit it was pretty fun but not something I would bother with again.

What I did love about Paris was the louvre. I loved it! That place is massive. I love galleries but even I was getting sick of looking at walls upon walls of framed paintings. It was great to go see and I know I will be back visiting Paris and the louvre again!

From Paris we made the small (alot more tolerable than our overnight train) 3hr trip to Amsterdam! Amsterdam was not what I expected its actually a stunning city full of beautiful buildings and full of rather lets just say 'unique' shops. We had three nights in a hostel right in the red light district. This area was again not what I expected but was full of resturants, cafes and shops amongst ladies in windows, 'coffee shops' and adult entertainment shops. This place had somehow discovered a way to have police, prostitutes, locals, churches, and tourists all in one small area all work together somehow. It was interesting to see the dynamics between the different groups of the city. Found the weather here even colder than Paris. This was so hard for us that we had to abandon the walking tour we were on and go warm up instead. I have realised my body is not designed and made well for the European winter! Therefore most of our time was spent inside cafes and pubs! Mind you no trip to amsterdam would be complete without a trip to a coffee shop...

After an 11hr bus trip to London (we could have caught a 3hr train but where would the fun be in that) we arrived in the UK! It was now known to us but no one else playing at home that we were planning to end our trip earlier than expected and arrive home on a matter of a few days. This was to surprise everyone and be home in time for Christmas. We had a day exploring London town seeing all the big sites such as buckingham palace, westminister abby, big ben and found great little pubs where we enjoyed mulled wine (yes they really do love their pubs, they are everywhere). We then went up for one night to Manchester to visit a family freind of Jaime's who had hold of our excess lugage we sent ahead instead of carting around Europe. So we called in to pick up all Jaime's extra bags (She did not travel lightly!) and went out for our final night in Europe! Monday nights in Manchester ended up being quite drunken fun! We got up early the next morning and made the 3hr train back to London, then the hour and half train to Heathrow...all hungover. Sat at Heathrow airport for hours as our plane was delayed, finally getting on the plane for our six hour flight to Dubai. Another flight that lasted 13hrs and we were home in Melbourne. I'm never going to forget mum and dads face when I walked in the door...priceless!

To tell the truth I'm not sure about Jaime but I was more than ready to leave the bitter cold weather, hostel rooms shared with 16 other drunken people, living out of a suitcase for the last 3 months, not ever having access to a washing machine when wanted, not being able to cook the food you missed from home, etc! But after saying all that I have greatly loved living like this for 3 months and have definitely turned into a wandering travelling gypsy.

I would not change a thing about this trip. I have learnt so much about the world, how other people live, and have learnt heaps about myself and who I really am. I have met many great and diverse people along the way who have all taught me something and of who many I hope/plan to see again in the not so distant future. Most of all I have found another sister. Jaime. I don't want to go getting all girly and emotional here but I'm just going to say that I know I have a friend/advisor/sister for life in Jaime! She has put up with me (including my tantrums) for a great amount of time! We have so many inside jokes and sayings and know everything about each other, even the stuff we dont really want to know!

Thanks for an amazing trip Jaime!

And now to you, Thankyou for allowing me to share with you glimpses of my life for the last three months. I hope that you managed to get some enjoyment from reading this.

This is the end of this trip but just the first step on my journey, stay tunned for my next exciting chapter: my new life in Berlin

I can't wait...

X

Advertisement



4th January 2013

Wowee
It sounds like the trip of a life time Sarah. I have enjoyed reading your blogs and could tell that there was a love affair blooming between you and Berlin! I hope the next leg of your adventure is as exciting as this one! x

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb