It's time to enjoy myself!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
December 16th 2011
Published: December 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Day 94, 14/12/11

Got a text from work saying that they had no free phones and not to bother coming in for the rest of the week and to ring on Monday to see about working next week. Turns out, the other English girl got the same text as me as she rang me expressing her views on the whole situation. I wasn't happy either so I rang the manager and asked why they invited us back if they knew they didn't have any phones? We reckon it was a cover story - they probably didn't want us back at all. I will probably just give up with work as it is not working out and I can work at home, so why do it here? I am going to enjoy myself and have an amazing Christmas and New Year!

Anyway, the rest of the day...Stuart and Me went to look at rentals cars to do The Great Ocean Road in, all the major companys such as Europcar don't allow under 21's to drive their cars. We went in search of another company and found one who had a sign up saying if you're nder 25 you just have to pay $19.95 compulsory insurance and you can drive. Great, we found one that I could drive, so we went ahead to book it and passed over all of our driving licence details and a deposit. Until she said to me, 'how old are you?' I said '19', she said 'I thought you just told me you were under 25?', I said 'I am, I'm 19,', she said, 'you have to be over 21 to class as under 25, we don't rent cars to under 21's'. We had our little moan to her saying why didn't she tell us this before and the sign is misleading but in the end the law is the law and we were back to square one. I might just do it as a 2 day/1 night tour.

Got a card today from Moonpig Australia and it was from Janine and Katrina!! Was a lovely surprise!

Went to the gym later to spin class and it was Lindsey's last night today before she flys home so we just chilled in the bar.



Day 95, 15/12/11

My Christmas money arrived from home today so I can start to book my trips and will be doing so in the next few days.

Went for a walk around Albert Park Lake in the afternoon which I heard is 13km all the way round. It didn't feel that long as we walked it all and I was in my Flip Flops.

Advertisement



16th December 2011

Hi Callum, loving your posts. Your blogs are always up to date which passes some time for me in work reading them :) Im heading out to Oz in June with my Boyfriend. Planning on working in Melbourne for a few months to add to my travel fund. Would you recomment Melbourne itself as a good place to base ourselves in for a few months?
12th January 2012

Staying in Melbourne
Hi April, Sorry for not replying sooner, have only just got your message :) so hope you had a good Christmas and New Year! and glad your enjoying my blogs. I based myself in Melbourne for around 2 months and it is a really nice city. I got a little bit of work for 3 weeks or so. The work is there, you just have to be persuasive and get yourself out there. Melbournes transport system is one of the best in Australia and resonably priced too. Hope that helps, enjoy your time out in Aus :) x

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb