Trip around Australia


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
December 19th 2008
Published: December 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Dec - 12

So my mom said all I write about in my travel blog is working out and eating food. Well that’s pretty much all you can do around here I do live on a floating city. But I’ll try to fill you in on some other stuff that’s been going on. First off the best thing I’ve seen so far has to be the Sydney harbor sail away. The port is just beautiful, and during the sail away you go right by the Sydney opera house and under the Sydney harbor bridge. Its really amazing. The second cool thing I’ve probably seen is a place called Port Dravunie, look it up on google maps. Its basically an island that has 300 inhabitants. Its one of the few times while working on a cruise ship where you can truly feel your in the middle of nowhere. A couple days ago I was in a place called Exmouth, pretty interesting place and quite desolate as well. And finally yesterday I was at the great barrier reef. The great barrier reef is amazing, it’s the only living structure visible from space and is home to thousands of animals and plants. So those have been some of the cool places I’ve been lately.


Other news…..Has anyone read the book a curios incident with the dog in the night, well if you haven’t please pick it up, its actually a kids book but still a good read, anyway the main characters is autistic and if he sees three yellow cars on the way to school it’s a bad day. Sometimes you get like that on a the ship, I mean I wouldn’t see three yellow cars because I’m at sea, buts its more a metaphor for how stuff can just start to bother you for no real reason. Emotions are just multiplied 10 times more when you live, work, eat, sleep, play all in the same spot with the same people. So to deal with this I went and got really drunk. Needless to say this didn’t help, actually it did just the opposite and I left the bar having said some things I regret. No I have to hide in my cabin a couple days hoping things smooth themselves out. Oh well such is life on the grand scales of things I’ve been pretty decent since I got on here so your aloud one bad day every once in a while.

And I’m not alone in my foolishness in fact if there was a rating scale about how foolish you can be on a ship I’m on the lower end. That’s all for now guys I wrote this blog about a week and half ago I just haven’t had a chance to post it.

Later



Advertisement



19th December 2008

Read the book .....
Hey Fergus: I read "The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time" by Mark Haddon a few years ago. Fantastic book. I agree with you that it's a book that almost everyone could enjoy. Glad to hear you are doing a bit of reading which is a good way to escape from the stress of living on top of one another for a long, long stretch of time. Hope people forgave your outburst!! Ben told me recently I had never learned to NOT say what I was thinking and that it's something I really need to work on. I had to agree. How was Tasmania?? Did you get into the city of Perth?? I suppose all the cities tend to merge into one another and become blurred when you visit so many in such a short time. I gather that maybe one trip will be enough this time out??? I just went on the webcam for The Sun Princess and see you are bound for Noumea. Lots of sea days and Islands on this trip but the one after this should be spectacular. Keep in touch ok. Ronnie
22nd December 2008

Hey
Hi Fergus! I've got some news... Next Feb I'm going to Peru, Bolivia, Chile and Argentina with my brother. We decided to backpack all over those countries for about 35 days... Let's see if we can make it. Bruno can't come cause he's gotta work. =( Oh, you forgot to mention the name of the kid's book. Take care!

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb