Xmas, New Year's and the Ashes


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
January 20th 2007
Published: January 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Christmas Tree?Christmas Tree?Christmas Tree?

They had this at one of the main intersections in the CBD. I probably walked right by it multiple times before even noticing it. It chimed carols every so often and is about the only xmassy thing I saw.
Christmas really didn't feel like xmas this year mainly due to the lack of snow and +18 temperature we had here, though that is the coldest recorded xmas day Melbourne has ever had. I think it also had to do with the fact that xmas decorations were few and far between so it never had that Christmas feeling in the air. I found it quite odd walking around town and catching a xmas song coming from a store dealing with snow since they never get it here.

Chrismas Eve was a big night out for a few of us. Most of the germans here celebrate on xmas eve so we all went out to the bar to celebrate with them. This is the first year I haven't been home to celebrate with the family and I have to be honest, since it doesn't feel like xmas at all here, I didn't feel home sick at all or anything when the day began. With all the girls talking about missing home and family though, I realized that I missed them more and more as the day progressed. Needing to do something Christmassy, I went to the store and bought a few
Advent CalendarAdvent CalendarAdvent Calendar

I put this shot up again because it is the only other xmas thing I saw...a giant advent calendar at Fed Square
small toblerone bars and then walked around the hostel and at the hostels bar, giving pieces to everyone and wishing them a merry xmas. A couple other people were doing the same thing with other chocolates and it felt good. For dinner, still feeling the giving spirit, I took 3 girls out to dinner along the waterfront for a nice meal with some wine before heading back to the bar to continue the celebrations.

Boxing day in Melbourne was crazy because the Ashes was in town for the 4th test. Unfortunately, Australia had already won the Ashes, since they won the first 3, so the only thing on the line was bragging rights but that was enough to get the city going. I even bought tickets to the 3rd day of the test just to share in the atmosphere of 80000 people in a stadium. England was way overmatched yet again and the test was decided on the 3rd day too so I effectively got to watch the last game Shane Warne, the games greatest ever bowler, would play in his home town. The morning of the test was so dark that they turned on all the stadium lights.
Ashes at the MCGAshes at the MCGAshes at the MCG

Still no where near a cricket expert or anything but even if I knew nothing still I would have gone. 80,000 people is quite the atmosphere!
By mid day, it had cleared up and became sunny as well as the temperature rising about 15 degrees. Got to love the crazy weather in Melbourne! It became apparent shortly after lunch that England wouldn't survive the day but that didn't slow their loyal supporters the Barmy Army. That group of english had 2 full sections and didn't stop cheering and chanting songs for a good 5 hours or so and even kept going after the game for a couple more! I went and stood with them for a bit and it was quite a lot of fun though in the 40 minutes I was there, I couldn't figure out what the hell they were saying! Had to get one of my english buddies in the hostel to tell me the works.

We are the Army, the Barmy Army. We are mental, and we are mad. We are the most loyal, cricket supporters, the world has ever had!

Now repeat that over and over for hours on end and you'll have an idea of the kind of fans the English are!




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Ashes at the MCGAshes at the MCG
Ashes at the MCG

This was taken around 11am and you can see the stadium lights on. It was very overcast in the morning then cleared up and became clear and sunny in the early afternoon.
Ashes at the MCGAshes at the MCG
Ashes at the MCG

I tried to capture the different throw styles and field positions for them. I was near the sliding wall though which is used to help the batsman see the ball so couldn't get the full field. This was a medium speed bowler I think.
Ashes at the MCGAshes at the MCG
Ashes at the MCG

Fast bowler.
Ashes at the MCGAshes at the MCG
Ashes at the MCG

Leg break spinner.
The LegendThe Legend
The Legend

Greatest bowler of all time, Shane Warne. Only bowler to surpass 700 wickets which he did at the MCG on boxing day. He announced his retirement from test cricket so this is the last time he will play infront of his home crowd at the MCG.
Ashes at the MCGAshes at the MCG
Ashes at the MCG

I liked the seat I had behind the bowlers but the wall on the right of the photo blocked part of the field. The wall is moved depending on the side the wicket the bowler is on so that the batsman will be able to follow the ball easier.


Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb