Catching up - flying on!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » South Yarra
January 7th 2014
Published: January 7th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hi all,

I'm afraid that despite best efforts my iPad remains FULL! I can't download pics and so I am struggling to do the blog with pics. These are a few that I've taken on my phone at odd times so hope you will get a flavour.

We had a mad and marvellous Christmas Day. We started as elves opening pressies, we went down to Brighton beach and swam, scorching hot day, then we took a picnic with a lots of friends down to the banks of the Yarra river overlooking Melbourne. Friends from England, Wales, Italy, Germany and the USA enjoyed a good old barbie. Brilliant Day!

I did a one day tour of the Great Ocean Road. Spectacular scenery and great weather. Lots of wildlife and lots of people! We went to Geoff's 30th toga party at his family home. It was great fun and I wasn't the only one dressed in a bed sheet thank goodness! We've been to the Healesville Australian wildlife animal sanctuary up in the Yarra valley - lovely day out with the girls, Flo, Sophie and Emily. Flo and I drove the coast South of Melbourne - the Mornington Peninsula. Very
beautiful. We also went horseriding, what I earth possessed me to have that bright idea! It was a fabulous experience and we rode thro the bush and on to a lovely lovely beach at twilight. Marvellous.....but the after effects are still taking their toll on me!

New Year's Eve was great with lots of folks to the house and then down to the river to watch the fireworks over the city. Just a wonderful night with great people.

I've been to the two major art galleries in the city - very interesting modern art (?!) and some great 'older' stuff too. Fitted in quite a bit of shopping and browsing and lots of coffee and cake! We've met up with friend Shea and met her brother, been to her apartment and shared great meals and cocktails.

We've just had three nights up in the mountains with some distant relatives on my mothers side. Roger and Meredith are now lovely friends and they gave us a most wonderful time way way up in the awesome and amazing scenery. They were so wonderful, and welcomed us into their home and showed us the fabulous sights and scenes in which they live. It was a truly amazing experience, I have never been in such wonderfully wild places on top of the world - thank you so much to the wonderful Meredith and Roger who had also lent us a car for my time here in Australia, which has made a huge difference to my stay here and really enriched my experiences.

I'm now packing for Sydney on Thursday and looking forward to some exciting days there and staying with friends Stephen and Pamela and family. Then the sad bit, leaving Flo and heading off:-(

It will be so hard but I'm really looking forward to my time in Kuala Lumpur and with The Adams family in India. So excited to see them again!

I hope your New Years have started well and we send hugs and best wishes to all

X


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 24


Advertisement









Chips and things by the beach ....Chips and things by the beach ....
Chips and things by the beach ....

.....at Sorrento in the evening sun. A fitting reward after the horse riding for sure!!





8th January 2014

Happy new year ll
Looks like your having the time of your life,good for you.....love the Xmas tee shirt. Can\\\'t imagine what it must be like to have Xmas day in the sun and on a beach awesome.l stayed at Simon\\\'s Xmas eve and left to go to Georgina,s boxing day ,although l was not looking forward to Christmas my wonderful family made it a happy one ,they bought me a kindle fire .....so l can read in bed and also go on the web....as l am having problems getting to sleep .Miss Brian so much the house is so quiet can\\\'t get my head around the fact that l won\\\'t see him any more .well l wish you well and enjoy the next episode of your adventure all my love sue xxxxxx
8th January 2014

You sound great, Pam, and your pics and news snips make your trip feel really close. Sending you lots of love from norfolk. We\'re off to sign for our new home in France next week - very excited. Ali xoxox
10th January 2014

Bon voyage
Wow what a great time you're having. Have emailed but guess you've not been able to access.No worries, bon voyage for the next leg, Brenda xxxx
19th January 2014

Wow! Pam! You look so well and happy. Look as though you are having a fabulous time. Enjoy the last bit of your trip. Have fun and stay safe. Love and hugs from us both. xxx

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0779s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb