So Where is Emma Now?


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » Richmond
May 9th 2007
Published: May 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, the answer is Melbourne. After farewelling Elizabeth in the gala style we have all become accustomed to, I settled back into life in Tasmania for hmmm... about 2 weeks. Then it was back to New Zealand for ANOTHER fabulous holiday! This time to the west coast and it was absolutely wonderful. Fresh fish every day, a long bike ride (that Lisa enjoyed more than anyone, right Lis?) a absolutely stunning coastline, pancake rocks, greenstone gems and lots and lots more! I'm already planning my next trip :-)
Then there was a brief trip to Sydney where I stayed with David - following the theory that the reason why you travel is to meet more people and give yourself more accommodation options for further travel ;-) I got more than I bargained for with a very swanky company dooo with brilliant views of the harbour and a free bar. The conversations with all the quantity surveyors (I didn't even know what they were until then) was an additional bonus. Thanks David!
Then it was back to Tasmania for Agfest. Luckily I'd had a bit of a rest in NZ as it was straight into 5.30am starts to set up the site, feeding and catching animals and then manning the site. Roberto and Sid emerged as the natural stars, with Roberto even making the front page of the paper. Both had significant fan clubs by the end of it which was great. Another bonus was halter training Petra (one of Mum's newest babies). She took to it like a duck to water, even managing a very grand float exit that rivalled Roberto's and managed to draw blood (mine... ouch). Overall, an enjoyable but tiring time.
One day to recover then it was off to Melbourne to start my Personal Trainer course. It has been a lot of fun so far. Based in Richmond, the day is divided into classes with theory and activities then the day ends with running around the park doing all sorts of things that seem to be scarily focussed on pushups. I'm not sure I will be able to lift my arms again. Ever.
Melbourne life is pretty good. I walk along the Yarra and the boat clubs (no... I have no big desire to start rowing again thank you!), past the Tennis Centre (which has a sign to Wimbledon - only 16,000km away aaahhhh) and the MCG then straight up Swan St to school.
I'm loving being a student again but promise I will be back at work soon enough! Other than that I'm "integrating" into Melbourne life as best as I can by wearing dark clothes wherever possible and ordering granitas in trendy cafes (when did long blacks stop being cool??). I've also been to some exhibitions at the National Gallery of Victoria which have been brilliant. I'm off to the Great Wall of China exhibition on Friday - I'm dying to see how they kept all those rabbits out!
I hope everyone is well. May think about closing off this travel blog thingy since I'm not really travelling anymore at the moment. Or am I??? :-)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.066s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb