It is Tomorrow


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » Preston
May 7th 2014
Published: May 7th 2014
Edit Blog Post

So, its all finally happened:

I am unemployed (resigned), the car has been sold, the leaving party has happened, the trip starts tomorrow and the packing has been done (all apart from toiletries which are required tomorrow morning). With the realisation that has happened over the past few days come a few surprises. I experienced elation, excitement, concern, worry, hope, comfort and another million other emotions which has culminated in enjoying a glass of bubbly with our 'last' supper in Melbourne for a while and a surprising calm. We seem to be just going through the last minute motions of any holiday where we can be sat quietly one minute and the next one of us has run upstairs having just remembered one last item of clothing we want to pack or the decision to swap the grey t-shirt with the blue one.

Fortunately we have a great person (friend of a friend) to look after the apartment and cat who is even staying over tonight so the cat is not left alone in the morning - yes, we are very soft but it feels like the cat has now realised we are going away again and leaving him for a while so is giving us the cold shoulder!

There are so many things running through my mind that reading what I have written seems all over the place with information, I find myself jumping from one thought to another and back again, so many things to say, so many things I want to ensure I get down so I can remember how and what I was feeling/thinking when I read back over the entries at the end of the trip but all thoughts moulding into one big jumble - like the wires at the back of the TV and amp which no matter how hard you try to keep neat and tidy always end up in a mess!

In the coming week I will add more after some reflection on what has happened, I will also discuss with my wife on change of name for the blog to make sure it encompasses both of us and our feelings and experiences.

So, for now, I will sign off with a final message of hope that the trip is just what we want it to be (and more if that's not too greedy), that it brings my wife and I even closer than we already are, that we have no regrets and above all we have fun and meet interesting people along the way!

Will be in touch again soon.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb