Skies


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » Hawthorn
November 9th 2007
Published: November 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After the StormAfter the StormAfter the Storm

This picture was taken after my first thunderstorm in Australia, which was then followed by an entire day of rain.
One thing I have realized this past week is that I am going to miss the Melbourne skies. I have attached pictures of the sunset and skies that I have taken over this past week. Now that it is staying lighter much later (as in til around 7:30 or 8), I have been much more observant of the setting sun each night. I have been blown away by sheer beauty of what I've seen. Some of you have even heard me talk about how amazing it is to look out my window most afternoons and see nothing but endless blue...there literally are no clouds. There have been days in my life where I have seen a sky with no clouds, but not on a regular basis like I do here....and the blue is the bluest blue I've ever seen...it's magnificent.

Another fun feature about Melbourne skies, as featured in one picture is the rain clouds. In Melbourne, within seconds it goes from a cloudless sunny day, to a cloud-filled rainy period and back the cloudless blue again within fifteen minutes. It has never ceased to amaze me how it works here. As the famous saying says, "4 seasons in one
Warm DayWarm DayWarm Day

Sunset after a warm spring day
day" and sometimes, I literally feel like that here. There is a pretty good shot that it will rain here at least 4 days a week, but they've been in a 3 year drought. At first when I was told this, I did not understand how that could happen. The reason it happens is because when it rains here, it literally happens within minutes and then it's gone. They don't call for it in the forecast...it just happens. I have gone from a person who did not even own an umbrella to the girl who never leaves home without it...because half the time, I walk into class and the sun is glaring down and I come out and it's raining. The result of this are some pretty amazing skies and cloud formations.

Well, I guess that's it for now. That's been the highlight of my week- appreciating the skies. This week has been pretty boring, but productive at the same time. I got some of my graduate school applications finished, I closed my bank account, I got my flight itinerary printed, etc. This is all because I was lucky enough to not have any finals this week...my first one
Bluest BlueBluest BlueBluest Blue

The bluest blue sky I've ever sen
is next Wednesday the 14th and my second one is Friday the 23rd. Today I did start studying for my first final and I spent the night cooking rissoto with Ayako and then having girls night in with The Wedding Date and Spanglish both showing on TV tonight. Tomorrow, we're going to get sushi and eat it in the park and then I'm going out to an Italian place for dinner with Tom, Craig and the gang. Plus, I guess some studying this weekend as well. And then Sunday and Monday...Australian Idol gets down to the final 2!!! So exciting!

Until next time!
Katie


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Rain cloudsRain clouds
Rain clouds

The sky as the rain clouds roll into town.


Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0609s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb