Melbourne - Shopping, Cafes , Bars & Restaurant Tips & my personal thoughts...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » City Centre
July 7th 2014
Published: July 6th 2014
Edit Blog Post

️ My Travel bLug

Destination: #Melbourne - (#BonWasHere on 29June-07June)



If I summed up Melbourne ... My personal thoughts are super arty , quirky , cozy and funky Cafés & Bars...Chic boutiques style shopping almost everywhere ... Cafés & boutique shops on narrow & almost hidden like alleyways... The sky are usually grey , almost gloomy & definitely a lot colder than Sydney during winter however all the locals alike do not mind this "London like weather " at all. I was told by my cousin who lives in Melbourne that locals actually LOVE & are BIG on their Winter Fashion . After just spending a week in Melbourne I couldn't help noticing & looking at the people around me from head to toe and up & down to secretly admire their Winter Fashion sense . Melbourne is definitely a "mecca" for "shopaholics" and even myself who would usually rather go on grocery shopping than actually clothes/shoe/bags etc shopping . I don't keep myself up to date with the ever changing fashion trends at all as I who would rather spend my money on food & travelling than shopping .

I've been in Melbourne a few times now. Every time I come over here I suddenly become like a "shopaholic " myself. So far I have spent more than I would like to , so basically have blown out my budget out of proportion . In Sydney, I can go on with my life without buying any new clothes , shoes , bags etc for at least 6 months to a year or so. Well, actually if I'm overseas I do enjoy my shopping here and there . In Melbourne, I just LOVE love shopping till I drop and oh how I wish I had a limitless credit card where I don't have to pay it back . I love the shops here in particular because of the boutique shops and the things that they have that you can't get in Sydney really. Also, I love how the stores are heaps artistic & have that funky or quirky decor. Most things in Melbourne are affordable & it's never ending shopping options .

There's something about Melbs that other cities in Australia don't have . I have lived in Sydney for over 10 years , have been to the Gold Coast , Adelaide , Brisbane , Cairns...and I reckon Melbs for shopping , cafés , entertainment & sports have the best of the best . The city has a character feel to it . They have not completely converted to modern or cosmopolitan city like infrastructures but rather have chosen to remain their Victorian style houses, buildings and even kept their vintage looking trams . I have walked through Universities that actually looked like "Hogwarts School of Magic " in Harry Potter & went to Royal Exhibition centre that looks like a castle/church .

I must share my favorite spots and really the places I had the privileged to explore & experience ... These places were recommended by my workmates in Melbs ( Lorrie , Aaron & Adam) , a couple of good mates from Sydney ( Roberta & Dylan) who enjoyed Melbs as much as myself & my relatives (Aby & Shane ) ... who I think highly of them in terms of knowing their stuff .

For hardcore boutique style shopping ( & apparently bars & restaurants too ) head to Brunswick St in Flinders, Lygon St in Carlton & Chapel St. Get lost in the city and find yourself on almost hidden like and narrow alley ways for some crazy cafés & boutique shopping again. My favorite one is on Degraves St & Flinders Lane in the city . If you don't fancy the boutique shops you will never run out of other options. There are plenty of shopping complexes - GPO, Myer, David Jones, QV & the newly built Emporium shopping complex . If shopping is really your mission ? Prepare to maximise your budget when you walk through Chapel St ( this is high end shopping apparently ) , Collins St , Swanston St & the main one is on Bourke St Mall in the city , Sydney road in Brunswick, Harbour Town & Queen Victoria Market ( this is like Paddy's market in Sydney but it's one of the must see in Melbs ).

For BARS/PUBS
- Go to Madame Brussels (it's on a rooftop & a must see in Melbs as considered an icon )
- Father’s office ( $5.00 happy hour /this is right next to the State to library )on Swanston St
- Section 8 bar
- Touché Hombre next to section 8
- Next door to roofbar section 8 "Ferdyduke "
- Mamasita's for Friday night after work hangout, their sangria and tapas and meals are excellent
- Ponyfish island ( right next to Crowne Plaza Hotel )
- Naked Four Season rooftop bar on Brunswick Road in Fitzroy.
- Bimboes in Fitzroy
- Lui Bar ( at the Rialto Hotel )
- Kinobi Bar
- Sahara Bar
- Howla Bar
- Pubs around Sydney Rd such as Brunswick Hotel, Spotted Mallard, Cornish Arms Hotel, Penny Black, The Snug Hotel and Bridie O'Reilly for some classic Irish pub bar and meal

For RESTAURANTS

- Vue du Monde and PM 24, Classic French fine dining
- Cumulus Inc. Flinders Lane's hidden gem, modern Australian restaurant
- Chin chin (bar slash restaurant, very famous and always packed )
- Longrain Restaurant in Bourke St for Thai fine dining, they have amazing selection of cocktails and cosy ambiance
- Tom Phat on Sydney Road ( their pork belly is to die for )
- Movida for amazing Mexican tapas and bar
- G2 for some tasty Korean BBQ perfect for big groups
- Alisha Turkish Restaurant in Brunswick (Saturday is the best )
- Ti Amo on Lygon St ( the lamb shanks & the pasta were next to perfections )
- Cargo Bar in Harbor Town ( really nice water views and decor )
- Bopha Devi, Cambodian restaurant in Harbour Town )

For Cafés
- Code Black ( try their Milfuile )
- Wide Open Road ( try the wild boars sausages or their turtle beans mushroom ??? )
- Lux ( try their crispy eggs )
- A1 Bakery ( try their cheese pie or zeta )

Getting around ...
- Trams ( It's almost like Melbourne moving icons in the city . They're everywhere and super convenient . ) - You will need to buy a Myki Card from 7/11 stores or News agencies before boarding the trams . Fares start from $3 per way per destination. Only touch on as you're only traveling around the city (Zone 1)

- From the Airport to the city and back , a 25 min bus ride only cost $18.50 one way. If you do not mind the cost taxi fare is from approx $50.00.

What I also love in Melbs is the people . They are friendly & cool . I have worked in Melbs for a week and they have made me feel like I belong here. They were so easy to talk to & I could talk to them with anything and everything without that feelings that I have taken their time out . Talking to them felt like I've been friends and have known them for a while and not just for the week I have been here. The locals on the shops , bars & restaurants were genuinely nice , helpful & gracious . If I think of Melbs people I thought of these words " effortlessly cool " & awesome tattoos & get ups .



The best thing about Melbourne .... is having a super awesome cousin and her husband who was born and breed in Melbs and of course he is as awesome as my cousin .



From this entry , you have gathered by now that I have the passion for Melbourne but I could not live here . I am more than happy to come and visit anytime however I have more reasons to come down and enjoy Melbs even more because I can spend quality time with my cousin & her hubbie & now that they have just bought a 3 bedroom house.
In saying this I would still prefer living in Sydney over any other cities .... because ...well that would be another story to tell.... To be continue ....





On another note ,
I am always curious & it's my way or encouraging and preserving the highlights of someone's day...so have asked my brother's thoughts for his best top 3 things that happened to him in Melbourne ...

1. Having the opportunity to experience Melbourne culture through living in our cousin, Mabelle's place & her husband, Shane's house and for them to take us & show us around .

2. Spent a day at the OZ Comic-con exhibition for the first time.

3. Experiencing the culture in Melbourne by eating , drinking & shopping !!!

As for myself .... I have enjoyed my time in Melbourne almost every second second but these were my highlights :
1. Did not pay anything on my airfare as Virgin Australia Airline has kindly given everyone at work a free domestic return flight.

2. Spent quality time and have made great memories with my cousin and her hubbie .

4. Have stayed at my cousin's vintage house (Ye Olde!) & filled with entertainment, gadgets and cool stuffs .

3. I felt grateful & humbled that I can afford anything (almost) that I want.

4 . Having the privileged to work with and get to know my workmates in Melbourne.

5. Working at the most exclusive buildings in Melbourne (apparently !) also called the Dome. I was just heaps amazed of the lay out and became overly curious of this lobby at work.

6. Had an awesome time at the Oz Comic-Con Exhibition for the very first time and being amazed at the Royal Exhibition Centre .

7. All the restaurants and bars we went to .

8. We were healthy and well the whole time .

9. Stayed optimistic and enthusiastic.

10. Safe & everything went in smoothly .





PS. if you have read through all the way here...THANK YOU so much for your time. Would love to hear your feedback and also additional tips & reccommendations if you have any when travelling to Melbourne.



x--Bon-->



Follow me on my instagram - bonstar16

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb