Summer, sport and good days


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » CBD
March 12th 2009
Published: March 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

MelbourneMelbourneMelbourne

We live on the very left of that picture


It has been a really long time since we updated (but think of it this way - hopefully we now have something interesting to say!).

So we arrived in Melbourne in the middle of Spring Carnival and received a big welcome from the locals ( thanks Liz & Sylvie) when we went to the Melbourne cup races - Unfortunately Septimus did not even place in the races - alas maybe we Septim’s are all about the hype and none of the substance (must ponder that one…..).

But everything worked out splendidly (I always think of my sister Duana when I use that word - Little miss Splendid) for us, for the first week we stayed with some great people who my sister hooked us up with until we got our apartment sorted (Jonathan sweet talked the estate agent into letting us see an apartment which had not been listed and we moved in the following Tuesday (the day of the Melbourne Cup)). Incidentally our unpacking took all of about ten minutes - there is a lot to be said for packing light! - although having acquired bits and pieces in the last six months, packing up may
Captain CookCaptain CookCaptain Cook

Never mind that the Aborigines were here thousands of years before him, but he wasn't even the first European explorer to land in Australia, nor the 2nd, 3rd etc. He was the first to Victoria however.
be a little more difficult.

Our place is cool -one bed apt in the very centre of the town (in the Central Business District) - my aim is to get a job in the ANZ bank because the building is just across the square from our apt (now that would be an easy commute!).

Jon joined a rowing club (Melbourne Rowing Club) and I recently acquired photographic evidence that he does actually row - lets be honest - rowing races are boring if you are not a rower, there’s a boat , oh and another - they are splashing water - that must be bad?!?! That’s pretty much what I got out of it - on the other hand I can now talk rowing with the best of them (even though I have never been in a boat and have no intention of getting in one - do you know how easily they capsize? Not a chance of getting me in one, no way, not even the boat they refer to as the tub!). But I will let him tell you all about the exciting world of Australian rowing…..zzzzzzz.

I on the other hand have been getting
International rulesInternational rulesInternational rules

All history now, but what a great stadium the G (MCG) is even when only half full.
up to very exciting stuff, I joined a boxing gym and have started boxing (amateur, you know - with the head gear and all) - now this has created a bit of discussion amongst my friends, the whole idea of hitting a girl (although I generally aim not to get hit in the face, it has been known to happen…. Thanks Ag.) Whilst most people agree that it is very good exercise and that hitting the bag is fine, I have been really surprised by the number of people who have found that they don’t really like the idea of me in a ring with another girl (unless there is Jello involved and then it gets more acceptance.. hmmmm, must rethink my friends). But what really surprised me is that a lot of the guys don’t like it. In fact some of the guys in the gym won’t spar with me (There are not many girls in my weight division (no I am not fat!) who spar in my gym so I sometimes spar with the guys who are of similar weight) because I am a girl. I will try and get some photos / video to upload of me
Races - JonathanRaces - JonathanRaces - Jonathan

Melbourne Cup day - pretty much everybody gets dressed up and picnics in the grounds of the races
in my boxing glory so that you can get an idea as to what it is like.

November and December flew by between getting settled in Melbourne (me getting a job ((gotta pay the bills you know) - with a company I used to work for in Europe - the metal can company)) and of course trying to finish my dissertation. I can honestly say - I never want to hear about protectionist EU Member States ever again! We managed to get to the final international rules match and watch Ireland trounce the Aussies in the MCG - ah happy days.

But a lovely thing happened at the end of December - yes that’s the one - Christmas! Oh and it was sunny - weird I know. Amazingly enough even though Jon and I have been together 11 years - this was our first Christmas together - I know - its mad! - so we decided that it was gonna be the best Jon & Seppy Christmas ever (which was easy given that it was our first), to this end we sorted out a timetable (no, we didn’t colour code it but maybe next year), Christmas carols at
Races - the girlsRaces - the girlsRaces - the girls

Sylvie and Liz with Seppy who we originally met in Amsterdam but are living here now
the Cathedral and mass on Christmas eve followed by Presents (big shout out to my mother for the six pack of TAYTO, woo hoo) and some phone calls home. Then Christmas morning, bit of a run - together (I know Jonathan took baby steps and I was knackered after five minutes) and then off to the beach where we had TAYTO sandwiches and Champagne and strawberries for Christmas lunch (we are super classy). Then in the evening we went home and had that old Mc Ardle favourite - chicken & broccoli bake and roast potatoes. At which point we were too stuffed to eat desert and just lay around watching the present which I gave Jonathan (the Rocky box set - no household would be complete without all five Rocky DVD’s) and I can happily say it was a perfect Jon & Seppy Christmas. Although on a side note, Jonathan I think did get the most class present (a T-Shirt to add to his collection of weird and wonderful t-shirts) from his sister and I have since spent a lot of time trying to liberate it from his wardrobe (for myself!). To recover from all that we spent St. Stephen's Day (Boxing day to some) at the cricket which is one minute of excitment to 29 minutes of relaxing in the sunshine, having a few drinks and a chat, and laughing at the antics of the other supporters. A really nice relaxing day that - I mean one guy infront of us read an entire newspaper (broadsheet including supplements!) but I think that was so he didn't have to chat to his wife beside him.

New Years we went to watch the fireworks from the balcony at the boat house (which is in the centre of town - just think Georges Quay in Dublin) which was fun and we met some really nice people then who we have since had dinner with. On New Years day Jonathan went to the races (JMA: Country race meet at Hanging Rock which has a mysterious story attached about a missing class of school children who were never seen again. I believe it is a well known movie and despite a quick look around I didn't find them) - and I unfortunately stayed home and worked on my dissertation (it was eventually submitted mid January - thanks to all who helped and commented).
Christmas windowChristmas windowChristmas window

Part of a very cool Myers christmas window based on a book. This is elf school and some of the comments are classic


January and February were pretty much spent rowing for Jonathan and boxing for Seppy, although we did manage to take in a really great outdoor production of Taming of the Shrew and also went to see Madama Butterfly in the Theatre (which I really enjoyed), oh and maybe a couple of picnics 😉 thanks Pat and Carla for the class picnic set it (and the bubbly contents) which were very much enjoyed.

And we had our first visitor last week! All the way from Amsterdam. It was great, I took the week off and we rented a car and headed up to the Mornington peninsula, and in the grand tradition of Seppy and Jon, and of course given that Helen was over to visit we went and did wine tasting (suitably embarrassing photos are available on Helens Facebook!) and more wine tasting and more wine tasting, after which we tried to play chess - very unsuccessfully on my part - if Jonathan Maguire was a card player he would be a shark (what do you call a chess shark? …? A jolly competitive fellow?). Unfortunately we did not get the weather for Lawn bowls (too windy) but we
Christmas - taytoChristmas - taytoChristmas - tayto

A picture says a thousand words...
will endeavour to ensure that for her next visit we get it all set up - its interesting what will happen when you put three very competitive people in one house for an extended period of time (not to mention the swimming, the motor cycle racing (game in the arcade) and the ten pin bowling) oh and I also, for the first time, played the pokie machines (well I put in one dollar) and I won nineteen dollars - at which point I went great - I’m off, I don’t think I am the sort of player they really want. Although I didn’t win it for my extensive pokie machine playing knowledge, after I had finished the credits on my one dollar (and lost) there was a last bit where you had to “kick goals” by pressing the direction to kick in, I scored seven (if I had got seventeen I could have won a car - bit off that target though) and won the money - so you could say my sporting skill were more useful than any gambling ability!

So, what is next for Seppy and Jon? - well, when we know, we’ll let you know -
Christmas - beachChristmas - beachChristmas - beach

How we spent Christmas day
how is that? .












Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Cricket with paperCricket with paper
Cricket with paper

Our newspaper reader was just a few rows infront - not a bad day's cricket either and saw what looked like a record "empty plastic beer glass snake" being created in the afternoon (until the stewards took it apart - such a covert operation too)
Hanging RockHanging Rock
Hanging Rock

The racecourse is down below on the left. Not sure how anybody could have gotten lost on this rock to be honest but it is a good story (even managed to get a museum out of it)
New Years Eve MelbourneNew Years Eve Melbourne
New Years Eve Melbourne

From the boathouse balcony over the yarra river. Fireworks seem to accompany any event though here - last weekend they had them for 3 evenings in a row
Homeless world cupHomeless world cup
Homeless world cup

A fantastic idea held right in the middle of the city with a big screen and commentary. Ireland were unlucky to not make the final group. Some of the participants had tougher backgrounds than others - I'm not sure if some of the Liberian team have been found yet after going missing...
burger monsterburger monster
burger monster

After several months of serious training, it was time to welcome him back into my life
Helen and SeppyHelen and Seppy
Helen and Seppy

After driving them to several wineries in quick succession, I thought some food was in order. Nice area the Mornington Peninsula
Wine menuWine menu
Wine menu

See if you can spot the "kerosene" and "cat's p!@s" comments
BoathousesBoathouses
Boathouses

Where Jonathan has spent many hours traveling to and from. Right in the middle of the city and a nice stretch of water too (River Yarra)
Rowing raceRowing race
Rowing race

hmm - Seppy might have been right, rowing photos don't look too exciting. I suppose we can have a go at "spot Jonathan"


Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb