Yesterday I saw my first kangaroo and today I ate my first kangaroo


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Geelong
March 24th 2013
Published: March 31st 2013
Edit Blog Post

So because of my late night (early morning technically) on Wednesday/Thursday, I actually didn't make it to my class on Thursday. I had planned on it originally, but I didn't set my alarm and I woke up at 1105 and the bus left at 1115 and that just wasn't happening. So I practically did nothing all Thursday and Friday. I'm finding that I'm super bored. Classes at home actually have homework and such whereas these don't we just have assessments and when they aren't due soon, I have no motivation to do them that far ahead of time but I'm working on it because they are worth so much of my grade. Plus only having four classes (2 online which is just awful) and no clubs to go to or agendas to write I find that I do a lot of laying around on the couch. Especially beccause I can't get anywhere by car and I hate taking the bus, its not even that I have to pay money for it, its all about how long it takes. Sometimes I think when I'm bored I should take a ride around the city on the bus just for fun. All my friends have classes all week so they aren't even around. I thought it would be a lot cooler at the beginning but now I'm starting to regret not having many classes. Plus no job to do so even more of my time is free.

On Saturday though Shannon, Meghan and I went to the Melbourne zoo which was an adventure because we had to take the bus to the train station and then catch the train which wasn't even running due to track maintenance so we got a bus which we all ended up falling asleep on. But the Zoo was awesome! So confusing though and not laid out well....we told our architecture friends to do a project on it and redesign it....Anyway I saw my first Kangaroo and Koala! The koala's were totally my favorite though I was so excited to finally see one in person after loving them since my godmother brought me a stuffed koala back from when she went to Oz. I eventually want to go to this sanctuary were you get to touch and possibly hold one. That place also has some kangaroos and wombats. At the zoo I wanted to see the Tasmanian Devils but their enclosure was getting fixed 😞 But I did get to see some wombats, emus and platapi! All Australian animals 😊 There were also lions, tigers and elephants....no hyenas 😞 As much as I loved seeing all the animals, having my experience with Africa has really taught me a lot about the psychology of animals so I could tell all the animals that were unhappy/didn't like their neighbor/didn't have a big enough enclosure and so forth. But I did overall have a good time. Seeing all the stereotypical Australian animals was pretty awesome.

The next day, Shannon, meghan and I went down to the waterfront campus and explored. We didn't really have much to do but we did try Kangaroo for the first time at a Thai restaurant! It tastes like beef to be honest but I guess its a lot healthier, its also more expensive. Mon said that to have it properly you need to cook it like a steak so she's going to do that for me sometime 😊 I personally liked it in noodles, but I also have this thing about Asian noodles


Additional photos below
Photos: 170, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb