Lawyers Suck


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Tasmania » Freycinet
March 5th 2006
Published: March 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Thanks to lawyers I felt my first real pangs of homesickness this last weekend. I don’t tell you this because its bad or really sad. Its just a matter of fact. I’m sure it won’t be the last time. But as Count Rugen (the man with 6 fingers on his right hand) said, “this is for posterity so be honest.”

So the story:
I went to Freycinet National Park with all intentions of some real alone time. I was going to rent a sea kayak and kayak down to the sound end of the peninsula and camp there by myself. Well when I got there I found out that the rental place wouldn’t rent to groups of one person… no matter how much they beg and plead. WHY? Because of Liability Insurance…. DAMN lawyers F!$ing everything up.

So I came to camp and that is what I’m going to do. But now I’m camped in the main National Park campsite. I couldn’t even backpack in because I didn’t bring my pack… doesn’t fit in kayaks. Now this campsite isn’t bad. I had a great view of the beach and the sunset. My campsite was fairly private. But in reality the place was designed for car camping…. And I was sort of backpacking. It made me wish for AU and The Duff or Thrifts Ferry and a cooler of beer. I did hike the 45 minutes to the pub in town, which closed at 11:30. I didn’t find anyone interested in sea kayaking either.

But that being said. The park was beautiful. The water was incredibly blue and clear, though cold. The Hazard mountains which are only 450 or so meters high were pretty spectacular considering the peninsula was only about 1km wide.

It was a good weekend.

Oh yeah, I almost forget to mention the Jumping Jack Ants. Biggest ants I've ever seen.
They seem to be able to jump like 10cm or so, and they can bite. They were all over.

And the stars. They were amazing both nights. The first night was so nice I could sleep with the tent fly open so I could see the stars while I slept. The only stars I recognized were Orion and the milky way. Something interesting in the milky way was a big black hole in the middle. Not really sure what that is. Maybe I'll never know.


Here are the pics from Freycinet
Here are the pics from Hobart


Oh yeah, I had many more pics of Wineglass Bay and the views from the top… I saw them really.
But somehow this damn computer deleted them off of my camera when I was trying to copy them.

PPS-- I lost my pictures of the Tassie Devils I saw today as well.

PPPS -- I lost my watch in Freycinet also


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb