Another national park and the long road back to Hobart


Advertisement
Published: September 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well after my night in the hostel with a great sleep on my own I got ready to head out. It was a bit of a miserable day out. My first stop was Queenstown to fill up on gas. The road out of queenstown climbs up a bit of a mountain and you can stop part way and take pictures. But the rain kind of ruined the pics but still pretty.

I arrived in the Franklin Gordon national park and the first stop was Nelson Falls. It was still raining away but I decided to do the 20 minute walk anyways. The falls were really powerful and beautiful so it was worth the walk. The rain started to let up so I headed to the next stop.

This was a bit more of a hike to get to and would take 40 minutes but the views up there were worth it. It overlooks the whole valley with a river. Beautiful! But, just as I was making my way back to the car the rain came back.

I decided to just keep driving until I got to the Lake St. Clair info center. The rain was really pouring now. I ran inside and had a look around. You can take a little ferry boat to the other side of the lake and hike back but with the cold and the weather I chose not to. I did a short little walk down to the river once the rain let up.

I continued on after having some lunch and kept driving. I finally made it to yet another national park with yet another waterfall. But this was a really nice little walk through a bit of rainforest to get to a very pretty waterfall.

I arrived back in Hobart in the early evening and booked in to my hostel. The canadian girl I met before was still there so I hung out with her a french girl that had just arrived.


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb