The animals


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Tasmania » Burnie
March 7th 2009
Published: March 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The animals.

I can truthfully report that I have seen all the major Australian creatures. In Melbourne, the zoo is home to a nice collection, and the duck-billed platypus was very, very active. Much smaller than I expected, about 12” long”, he (or she) was swimming back and forth, nibbling on river grasses and making a real spectacle of itself. I would have loved a picture but they ask us not to use a flash and it didn’t come out without one. Again it was the aviary that blew me away. There were so many birds in this gigantic structure that is like playing that children’s game “How many birds can you find in this tree”. The answer is dozens. One parrot greeted us all with “hello”. Everywhere I looked there were wonderful colorful strange birds. Again visited the kangaroos, wallabies and koalas.
The weather in Melbourne was overcast and sprinkling so I road around the city on the great tram system, did the zoo, bought a couple of bottles of Australian wine and made my way back to the ship for a good read and nap.
That night we crossed the strait to Tasmania and it was really, really rough. The strait is relatively shallow and the swells were moving in many directions in a 65 mph wind. I loved it until everything from my coffee table flew across the room on to the floor. I got up and secured the computer and the wine, left the rest on the floor and then went back to a rocking good sleep.
Burnie, Tasmania loves cruise people and they let you know it. The mayor was on the pier to welcome us and the guide and driver were great. I went to Wings Animal Preserve where I finally saw Tasmania Devils. These are relatively small animals with very strong jaws, sharp teeth and an attitude. This is one critter that I had no intention of trying to pet. The kangaroos and wallaby were walking around free and when I feed the kangaroo, she held my hand with her paws and let me pet her. There was a baby wombat riding around in a keeper's arms and we all took turns petting it. A mom kangaroo had an almost full-grown joey in the pouch and it stuck its head and one foot out, looking us over. Bored, it went back in the pouch but the foot still stuck out.
What little we had time to see of the island was wonderful. The gardens outside the homes were brilliant with colors. We passed paddocks of cows and sheep and goats and alpacas. At sail away, the local pipers sent us off. I would love to come back and explore some more, preferably in their spring.
We set off crossing the Tasman Sea, billed as one of the roughest bodies of water on earth. While I’m sure it could have been worse, it was plenty rough with waves 18-20’ and high winds. Many, many passengers were sick and so were many of the crew. At dinner, more than one steward lost his tray of entrée’s (they carry up to ten on a tray). It was amazing that any made it from the kitchen were a disaster area according to our steward. This weather continued until this afternoon when we had a bit of sunshine and slightly calmer seas.
I am filling my time with nature lectures, jigsaw puzzles, a little reading, some poker, and naps. I also brought along a DVD seminar on geology that I watch. Before dinner I usually run into someone I have met before and we enjoy cocktails together. After dinner I usually check for a poker game or just go back to my cabin. I hear the shows have been very good but I just can’t get into the swing.
Tomorrow we arrive at Milford Sound for a day of scenic cruising in the fjords. I hope the weather cooperates. At least, so far, I have been a good mariner.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb