2012 has begun


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
February 1st 2012
Published: February 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Melbourne 2012Melbourne 2012Melbourne 2012

Federer up close and personal
2012 has gotten off to a great start. The New Year was spent with good friends while sweltering in the fantastic hot weather, and all of this continued as the days of January slipped by. A quick trip to the Riverland to see my beautiful friends Nicole, Daniel and their families, who feel like family to me, made me feel warm and fuzzy as the year started on such a great note. My birthday was great too, celebrating with old and new friends at The Bath, again basking in warm summer weather and a few cocktails too.



Although the entire month of January has been great, the highlight has to be Melbourne. I enjoyed weeks of socializing, at the home of friends, numerous dinners at amazing restaurants and countless cupcakes on Degraves Street. Many big nights were spent out on the town which always seemed to end in or involve The Long Room, with so much laughter and of course dancing/shuffling:-) and it's only now I am recovering with some rest and contemplation of new adventures to come in Melbourne.



The main event for January was the Australian Open and what fun I had this
Melbourne 2012Melbourne 2012Melbourne 2012

Me, Michelle and Big Kat
year. Again the weather was flawless day and night, the Heineken bar was entertaining on the odd occasion you could get past the 4hour line-up to get in, and the ultimate highlight for me was having up-front seats one night to see the main man, Roger Federer. I seriously could die happy now that I have finally seen my fav tennis idol up close and winning too - we don't talk about him losing to Rafa:-( Seeing Lleyton in action one night was fun too for the big group of us that went along and got fired up with excitement for the occasion.



To add to the pleasure of the Oz open, Federation Square in the city is a two minute walk from my aunties beautiful apartment where I spent some of my time and will continue in the months ahead. Each night the huge screen had the tennis on for the hundreds of fans to enjoy. Nights were spent dining alfresco style at the restaurants in Fed Square, with pole-position to watch the great games on display.



With the entire month of January feeling like a celebration of summer and life in general,
Melbourne 2012Melbourne 2012Melbourne 2012

Wendy, Michelle, Me and Kerry watching Thomas Berdych
I am filled with so much gratitude for living in this amazing country. Brilliant weather everywhere I have been, many stunning beaches I have walked on in each state, celebrations with countless friends new and old, laughter that made my belly hurt and of course my favourite sport tennis, all wrapped up into one eventful month. It has me asking is it January 2013 yet!?!



So here I sit now, at the ever beautiful and serene Carrickalinga, enjoying absolute beach-front views and basking in warmth, about to read on the balcony. I have total appreciation for this incredibly beautiful state I am in and I'm feeling so lucky to be constantly away on extended trips and weekends down the coast with my nearest and dearest loved ones. I can honestly say that I have such love for my home town and surrounding areas and I can't help but feel a mixture of sadness to leave here...again, but such excitement for the next installment that will be Melbourne...with a touch of Byron...again, for good measure.



More Photos Below


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Melbourne 2012Melbourne 2012
Melbourne 2012

Heineken Saturday - super saturday - 4hour line-up if you are stupid saturday - bucks shows and beers saturday - get Hisense tix next year super saturday!!!
Melbourne 2012Melbourne 2012
Melbourne 2012

Dinner at La Camera - Bellisimo
Melbourne 2012Melbourne 2012
Melbourne 2012

City lights
Melbourne 2012Melbourne 2012
Melbourne 2012

City Girls
Melbourne 2012Melbourne 2012
Melbourne 2012

Super Saturday evening starting at the Emerald Peacock...
Melbourne 2012Melbourne 2012
Melbourne 2012

Australia Day on Swanston street with Xavier...where is he? oops he's next to me somewhere
Adelaide beachesAdelaide beaches
Adelaide beaches

My favourite beach in the whole world...so far
CarrickalingaCarrickalinga
Carrickalinga

Beautiful beachside town of Carrickalinga


3rd February 2012

great pics!! glad to see you havnt got me back! well not yet anyway lol thank u for a fun jan xxxx

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb