8 weeks to go till I leave for Spain


Advertisement
Published: March 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Wild Lillies - Amarilliciae- Purple BellsWild Lillies - Amarilliciae- Purple BellsWild Lillies - Amarilliciae- Purple Bells

Wild Lillies along Wild Dog Hill with in Waite Conservation Park, Adelaide, South Australia
For those of you who know me, I have been preparing for my pilgrimage in Spain now for more than 12 months. I keep buying new backpacks, and gear until I feel that it is right in weight, size and functional in relation to my needs.
I know some are sick of hearing (son and daughter) about foldable hats, the grams of items etc. I feel I am finally getting to the end of this and will publish my complete Backpack items list for any one who is interested.
It is only once you start to plan that you realise just how much time and effort it all takes. After all it is only a walk of only 800km long and crossing 4 mountain ranges - you need to think of things like all weather possibilities and the gear that 'YOU' might need, at the same time keeping the total weight down to 10% of your weight. I weigh about 56-57kg - that leaves me with about 6.5kg of total carrying weight. This does NOT leave MUCH room to carry all of a woman’s possessions that are required. SACRIFICES HAD to be made!!!!!!!!!!! NO MAKE UP........ NO HIGH HEELS........NO NICE SHOPPING CLOTHES! Instead it is band aids for blisters, Bug sprays, micro and weightless items.

IT IS QUITE FRUSTRAITING. And at the same time exciting. All the buying and trialing of things.
So....it better be all worth it in the end.

Only 8 weeks to go before I leave for Spain. Hoping to start about 20th May from France, town of Saint-Jean Pied De Port.

Today I walked with Heather along Brown Hill Creek, Waite Conservation and Wild Dog Hill areas.... including KILLER HILL. It was extreme elevation, you know, the ones you can REALLY FEEL. The views where worth it as usual and later I spotted some flowers in the middle of all the dry grasses along wild dog hill area. Heather said they are summer or sun orchids, but they were actually wild lillies. Picture is included for you....

Will write again soon.
Begonia


Advertisement



25th March 2009

Good Luck!
Found your blog via the Pilgrim Forum, it'll be fun to follow you through your preparations and your camino! Me and my fiancé am walking St.Jean-Pied-de-Port to Burgos in July (don't have enough time for the entire camino at once). I am very interested in your backpack items list, I also weigh 56 kg and so far my backpack weighs 3.5 kg but I might end up remembering must-have stuff I've missed! :-) Buen Camino!
31st March 2009

Good Luck
Thanks, I wish I was only taking 3.5kg in weight. I have posted a list of the items and backpack I will take on my camino trail but am not sure if it is all working out. I am very new at these blogs. If it has not worked out you can let me know and I can send you a copy. What is your name? and what country are you from? I am Spanish and live in australia. Regards Begonia.
15th April 2009

Your blog is looking great!
Hello again Begonia! My name is Hali, I'm Canadian and live in Sweden. I found a link to your blog on the Pilgrim Forum. I'm also very new to making a blog (mine is in Swedish but maybe some pictures or music might be interesting!) Your blog seems to be working out perfectly, I got emails today saying that there were new entries. Your pictures of all the carried items are a great idea and inspiration. Travelling in July makes it easier for us to pack light, although if it were possible we would rather have travelled earlier to avoid the hottest period. May should be wonderful! If you want to check out my blog it's at http://hali.bloggsida.se/ Now I'm going to read through your new entries! :-)
15th April 2009

Your blog is looking great!
Hello again Begonia! My name is Hali, I'm Canadian and live in Sweden. I found a link to your blog on the Pilgrim Forum. I'm also very new to making a blog (mine is in Swedish but maybe some pictures or music might be interesting!) Your blog seems to be working out perfectly, I got emails today saying that there were new entries. Your pictures of all the carried items are a great idea and inspiration. Travelling in July makes it easier for us to pack light, although if it were possible we would rather have travelled earlier to avoid the hottest period. May should be wonderful! If you want to check out my blog it's at http://hali.bloggsida.se/ Now I'm going to read through your new entries! :-)
16th April 2009

Looked up your travel blog
Thanks Hali, I loves some of your photos. It seems like you own a Tille too!!!!!! I also got one for my trip and almost 'tripped' when I found out the price. My Tilley is a LT5. I will eddit my Backpack items and put in some new photos as I now have attached some badges on my packpack and made changes to some important items. Regards Begonia

Tot: 0.243s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 61; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb