Short and sweet


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland
August 20th 2014
Published: August 20th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Goodness me it's hard to keep up with this blog!!! I have a few minutes of free Wifi now, before I check out of my hostel, so I'll try to make the most of it!
So, the whale watching in Hervey Bay was excellent-we saw about 7/8 different whales and they came right next to the boat! We saw them do rolls and tail slaps and dives...one even jumped out of the water but I only saw it at the last second! The boat crew were really knowledgeable and told us lots of info, and gave us loads of tea and cake too :0)
After Hervey Bay I travelled up to Airlie Beach for a few days. That's a slightly larger resort town, although still only about 10 shops and 10 cafes! It has a beach and a marina and is the main area for booking boats to tour the Whitsunday Islands. Unfortunately it rained for 3 days so I didn't get out of the hostel much...and when I did I got soaked! But I checked the forecast and decided to wait for the sun before booking my boat trip, which worked perfectly! I got 3 days of scorching sun sailing around the islands!
To summarise my trip, I met lots of nice people, learned to snorkel (pretty easy), learned to scuba (bit harder), and saw loads of fish, whales, dolphins and turtles!! Oh and went in the hot tub on the boat's deck under the stars-amazing!!!
So, now I'm in a place called Townsville, leaving for Magnetic Island, where I hope to cuddle a koala and maybe rent a jetski?! I'll update you all when I can...
Bye xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



21st August 2014

Amazzzzing
It all looks amazing and sounds fantastic, if it wasn't for the small problem of the aeroplane I would be very keen to see it all for myself. Mind you I'd only get sunburnt and then get covered in prickly heat - so maybe I'll just check out your photos on your return. Hope you get to cuddle a Koala! Unfortunately there isn't much call for a surfing, snorkelling, jet skier here in W.B. but I'll keep checking the wanted ads. Make the most of it. xxx

Tot: 0.416s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0636s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb