Mission Beach to Brisbane. Its the Birthday season


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland
November 25th 2007
Published: April 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Little bit cut off Little bit cut off Little bit cut off

Man this is tight!
Current Mood: Too much fun has been had!

Mission Beach to Hervey Bay

The Bags were packed and myself and Kim were on our free bus to Tully where we would get in a plane and get the rush of my life! Saying goodbye to the guys and see you at 6 to Lewy and Anne who were following on the greyhound bus we got on the road and on our way! Arriving in Tully the Day was to begin. The deal was you would leave all of you bags on the bus that would continue to Mission Beach for you to pick up at the reception of where you would stay. We would get signed in, kitted up, strapped in taken up 14,000 ft and literally pushed out of the plane attached in tandem styleee to the qualified Diver. Man this day turned out to be fun.

So in the order above myself and kim were sorted through the procedures. My package included a DVD (which in on the way home Dad so look out and let me know what you think) but with the inclusion I had my little interviews directed by the diver and he basicly followed me and Kim around the place filming us bricking it. Hahaha I wish I had time too as said above we up there so fast! The funny thing is that 2000 ft looks as high as 14000 ft so with regular updates on our altitude I was well looking forward to it. Up we were and the doors opened. The noise was immense.. But Kim was first out to the jokes of the other Divers that were with us against me.. ahahah fair play! But no sooner did she leave the plane I was on the edge and Flying myself. The instructer took a mad ass nose dive to my delight and we flew past Kim with no problems at all. I couldn’t believe it. The free fall is for 60 seconds but the weird thing was you don’t feel like your falling. The feeling to me was like being help up be the wind. Its only the initial couple of seconds that any rush of falling is felt. So 60 seconds late the shoot is pulled and my balls were nearly cut off hahah man that harness is tight. A little yalp and and float down later I was on the floor but Buzzing for more. Man I wish I could have afforded it but no worries. My day was to continue and it turned out to be a great one! We landed near the nets on mission beach for all of you that know of them where we would pick up the bus again to a camping ground we had heard of that was supposed to be a nice and cheap place to be.

On arriving the camp ground looked like many others but on being there for a few hours we were to realise it was paradise! We were set up in not the best spot on the camp but unbelievably close to the beach! Were talking 20 metres. I could see the sea from where I would wake through the bush break between the camp and the sand which was only around 15 metres wide! Myself and Kim hadn’t really got to catch up on a one to one too much before hand so hanging about with her was nice. Kiwi’s are a funny breed hahaha man she could talk!

So after a day of rolling around on the beach and grabbing a few beers down in the town we went in search of Anne and Lewy who turned up to our camp after having a nightmare trying to get the grey hound bus to pass where we were. The plan was on and we would all head down to a local Bar to play abit of pool and hang out with the girls. Now mission Beach is a funny little place. The town is pretty quiet and there wernt too many women about so the bar quickly filled with lads. Myself and lewy were simple in there for a quiet one on the table but lads being lads wanted to try and show us up abit infront of Kim and Anne. So.. Myself and Lewy got into it. They would challenge us repeatedly on the table and off by slagging us to the girls trying to get abit of action. Funny thing was when me or lewy ran into any one of them in the toilets it was all yeah man how you doing man cant you give us a break on the tables man.. Dick heads!!!! So for 16 straight lewy and I did them all in doubles on the tables in all variations of rules! You see these Ozzies in mission Beach seem to think if you change it about the English boys cant cope!! Behave lads!! We think that when you take things too serious your never going to get anywhere. Tut tut tut… we retired with a final win and wlked away to the hate of them all! Hahahah in the words of rich the cockney… RUG HUNGRY MUGS!!! Or Lewy…. EEErrrrrrrrAGH!! Lewy and Anne shot off back to there digs and me and kim back to the tent. The night would be a bad one. Sleeping in the warmth with a sexy Kiwi with a sea view and a sunrise to follow. Nice one!!

The following Morning the Sunday Mrkets pulled me and kim out of the sleeping bag and out for Banana Pancakes. I couldn’t wait. Mission Beach was Special. Anne and lewy got down at last to meet us at our camp and we got to setting up our spot for the week!

Just at the foot of the sand through the little bush break was this little clearing with a stranded boat right near on the sand. The clearing sported the perfect spot to set up a Hammock and get an Eski on the go. A swooping Palm tree layed out toward the ocean from the view of the Hammock which worked perfectly as another spot to lay down! For a week we would crawl out of the tent and wobble to the clearing, decide the plan for that day which usually meant buying a slab of Strongbow and doritoes crisps and spend hour after hour swimming.. eating.. laughing.. strolling to and from town and really enjoying a well deserved break after the Inesfail misery! I was content. We got to have a few bets on the Melbourne Cup which is a big horse race to which lewy one a few quid. We spent that on beers whilst fighting for a spot on my hammock. You really had to be sly to get Lewy the B****X out of that thing hahah fair play lad it was some view! Myself and Kim did get it a few times at least!

So after a good week at the Camp ground and meeting a few characters (namely Gazza) we were all on the run south for my birthday bash on the whitsundays! I couldn’t wait. Lewy left a day early to head straight to Airly Beach whilst myself Kim and Anne hung on for another night before heading to Townsville to take a look at Magnetic Island. This turned out to be a good crack.

As we arrived a little too late to Townsville for the boats over we decided to stay there for the night. We checked into this pretty big hostel but Anne wasn’t feeling the best. She decided to stay in but myself and kim had decided to head down to see the aquarium which turned out to be wicked. I had more fun in the kids bit but the tanks were good to see. Returning to the digs Anne was still feeling poo so again decided to stay in. bless her. I was wired so we decided to head down to a local pub over the road to play some pool. This night turned out to be a good crack.. I was kicking ass on the table and was seen as a hustler but in good spirit there was no hard feeling from the lads. Me and kim got drinking with them meeting some great guys. We met this Zimbabwean man called Alex who really took us under his wing so by the end of the night and a sore face from laughing later kim decided she needed food. We went in search of delights to find a thai restaurant that was great fun. There was nobody there but drunk we decided to order. On getting the food after literal hugs from the owner and tellings off too we went out side to eat it. The restaurant was closed but as the little old ladies can’t get enough of me we were allowed to stay hahaha man that night was funny! On returning to the hostel and waking everybody up we decided to get our heads down rather than drinking more. Tomorrow we would head to Magnetic island.

In the morning we checked out of the dorm and got our bags stored before heading over to the island. We were told the island was all about horseshoe bay and snorkelling so that we did. Felt horrible for Anne though. She was still so sick so she opted to stay in the camp and rest. So after setting up the tents me and kim went off in search of a spot to swim in with our stinger suits of fins in hand. getting to the bay was mint. It was fairly secluded and quiet so we got to really chill out and play about abit. The snorkelling was fun even though my waterproof camera flooded. I swam back to put the camera away then Kim came in to join me. Spending the day on the beach was well needed. Hope you had a good time Gorgeous ;op xx

So the sun was going in so we decided to make the trek back before it got to dark to get home. The bush track was a mad one so rushing through we got back to the main beach for the sunset. It was pretty cool. Back at Camp we met up with Anne and decided to go get some food. I headed back early and left the girls chatting before hitting the sack. The next day was the big trip to Airly Beach to meet Lewy and get set for my birthday on the Monday where we would get on the Ocean in the direction of the Whitsunday islands. This would be wicked. So back into Townsville we got on the Ferry to get set for the trip. We got down to Airly a little late but well in time for beer oclock so grabbing Lewy from the room we all went out. Kimmy had things planned for meunbeknown to me so she shot off abit later after a few jugs of cider get prepping so staying out myself and anne ended up running into Martina from the Cairnes bus stop! We all got on it big style on the 12th with another irish lad called Dereck and a girl called Lyndsay. It was a mint night from what I remember.. I got home plastered.. and jumped into kims bunk so she could hold me and stop the spinning of the room! Fair play to you girly!!

My birthday morning arrived and my god was it a different day to the one I had in Chaine on the 13 hour bus. This one was I nightmare. I was woke by the girls and to my horror the entire room with a plate full of Pancakes that I didn’t even see. There was a birthday cake too!! I never saw that either. I was still wrecked. Absolutely!!! We all got out of the hostel late and in a pannick all of which was my fault had to grab a cab to the port for our day of sailing. My god I felt like a dog. No sleep… rough waters…. Upset Girlies… and might I add.. Projectile sea sickness I spent the entire day curled up on a bench sleeping, waking and throwing up whilst the guys all devoured the FREE Beer and food all day long. I missed out on snorkelling, and a right good day! I was so done in! My bad and a very big sorry to Kim and Anne for putting up with me. Lewy.. hahahaha you’re a star!!

So the end of the sailing trip came and in true Niki Fashion I was up and better when all had finished. The next stage of the trip would leave us on Long island though which at first looked mental. Was just a shame about the Rain. We got to spend that night drinking and the next day fishing around and about on the coastlines which was cool. We got to catch every variation of shark you can think of id have thought. Bit of a pain like hahaha.

That night we shot back to the digs and chilled around the bar in the resort. The weather was pish so we couldn’t really do much other that pub it up. Its basically a resort island. On the Wednesday we had a blast though. We got out on the Ocean Raft. Basicly you all get on this mad ass boat which rags around the islands dropping you off at snorkelling spots.. beaches such as white haven and getting airbourne on every wave it hit. Man it was fun. On getting back from the rafting we were all on route back to the resort when we ran into Martina again who joined in on drinks with us that night. The day after Lewy, Anne and Martina would head back to the island and would be the last time I got to see Anne as her plans were taking her south for work. Me mate was moving on! Me and Kim however had other plans. Kim had booked in an extra night on the island which was cool. We got to get out of the dorm and into our own room which was basically two beds pushed together the rip off bastards. But never the less it was good to hang around a little longer and get some proper good sleep in. we were both whacked and with the island weather literally being shat all we could do was either drink or chill out in the room. So Chill we did thank god!! Cheers Darlin the extra night was great!

The following mornings feeling was that we could literally not spend another minute on the island. We had to get out of there. So funnily packing up and fooling around we got back into town to catch lewy at one of the backpackers where we would camp up for a few days. Airley beach was having a Schoolies week which is basically the turn out of year six in school. It means walking around listening to pissed up 16 year olds screaming and trying to cause rifts with every person that walks past. Lewy was on his way to decking someone and kim was well ready to get out of there. The next stop down the coast was coming and we would be heading to the old town of 1770 to camp up for a few days before heading to Hervey bay for work.

So at midnight and after the longest two days back in Airley Beach we got a bus through the night to 1770 where we had a few chores to get out of the way before getting a swim in. laundry and banking. None of this took to long so sure enough we were camped up in a mad nature camp ground which had no electric and stood on the top of a hill that led down to this wicked little cove. Ive never seen waves like this before. We got down to the water and into the sea and stayed down there all day with the occasional sandwich in-between. That night we spent a few hours in the only pub in Agnus waters and wobbled home drunk. Kim and I passed out and im sure lewy stayed up slugging goon until the morning. You mad Barstard.

So day two in 1770 was a little more chilled. We had to book the bus for the following day but we basically spent all day swimming again getting smacked around by the waves laughing a screaming to Kim every time her boobs fell out of her bikini due to the force of the water. Didn’t bother me at all like but hahahaha she was constantly flashing us all hahaha good going babe!!

The night time turned out quite nice to. We got told about a little bbq area that a few guys from back up the coast were going to be at so picking up a few sausages and a loaf of bread we pooped down for a feed. It was a great day in all and in true fashion we shot up to the pub for a few jugs of the best TED’s I’ve ever tasted out here!! After a skin full of cheep beer we all went back to get some sleep in for a bus journey down to Hervey bay where our plans of Frasier Island were up in the air!

So the bus journey to the Frasier coast wasn’t to bad. We got to rest up and didn’t arrive too late and on arrival we went down to see what the town was about. We had decided pretty soon that we wouldn’t be heading to Frasier Island which was disappointing but never the less we were all a little bit skint. So we planned to grab abit of work here to get the funds up. The accomidation we had was perfect t o set up in so it wasn’t to bad of a place to settle for three weeks or so! It would seem! Night one was ok.. the place is really quiet so we all just popped into the bar and played some pool over a few pints but night two was a real shitter. We spent all day out and about looking around at agencies and clocking work places to get set. So on the night we were all overly kean for a pint. In the hostel bar there was a pool comp on so lewy and I entered in whilst kim chilled out in the room watching abit of TV. This guy came into the bar in near tears telling us that his room had been broken into and we should all go check our things.. I was like fuming so I bolted down to check on Kim and see whether anything of ours had been messed with. Well the room me and kim were in had 4 dorm beds in but lewy opted to camp out front before realising the layout of our gaff. So all of his bags were in his tent.. I went to check the tent only a fart and a splash away from our room to find it looked like it had been messed with. I went to see lewy to warn him and getting down therehe found both of his bags were taken. The thieving little fuckers!! Lewy went legging it off to find them whilst I went to see kim to say I was going too! On getting out to the street the police had nabbed lewy and banged him up to my horror. On being searched I was thrown into the wagon to sort him out! Both in the clear we were told to stay in and behave. That we did after finding lewys bags shy of a few key items on the back of the fences. Instantly the place was edgy. We couldn’t rest and couldn’t get out on the incase we got robbed again as for the next few nights other people were victims of the shit hole! Within a few days we all decided that looking for work was pointless and we all decided to get a move on south. My plans would take me to Brisbane to see Cacca and then Sydney to visit the family. Kim was to see her sister and meet me later and Lewy was off down to do the gold coast! By the Wednesday morning we were all on route to Brisbane where we would split up! Lewy went his way and kim came to visit Cacca with me for our last night together in Queensland. On the Thursday morning I was on an aeroplane on route for Sydney. Work was needed desperately.. but the family were first port of call. I couldn’t wait.

Ill be intouch soon with stories of Sydney but until then guys be safe and have tonnes of fun.

Love to you all ay home and again you kids should know I miss you the most!!

Love from a Brummy



Additional photos below
Photos: 107, Displayed: 36


Advertisement



1st April 2008

oh yea
You are a legend my love! I felt the roar of that jump!
2nd April 2008

Skydive
Hey man, Sky dive Looks awesome, wicked to see you are on the road still. Me and the wife are planning a tour of South America, after I have got my American Citizenship etc. Looks like life is good, very envious. Life in San Fran is cool, we even have a cat, beats cold old Bristol any day, but my feet is a itching. Look after yourself dude and keep these updates comming. Peace Tim

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb