The Capes (and 'bowled over' at the Green)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Townsville
March 30th 2009
Published: March 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

531531531

Cape Upstart
Days 55=>58 Cape Upstart (45 miles), Cape Bowling Green (35 miles), Cape Cleveland (31 miles), Townsville (15 miles)

Day 55 Due to an 'ugly' landing spot in Bowen - I wanted to, and did leave on a high tide - at 10:30PM. Hmm, I wonder why I get tired on paddles starting around this time.
'Andy' - the 'mayor' of Cape Upstart see last trip) wasn't there, but there were a few other local blokes about.

Day 56 Nice ride across the big bay to Cape Bowling Green with the SEerlies pushing me along, though, like the albatross - I 'flew' across quite well, but had an ugly landing. The waves (surf) were 'smallish' - but very sloppy. I underestimated the 'power' of the waves, and on a broach - it rolled me over. Oh well, one way to cool off at the end of the day (an 'unplanned' way Vs. an intentional - see tomorrow). Then, after landing - a long haul up a very windy beach.
[On my first trip up this coast ('93), I got into trouble on my 'launch' from this beach. I was 'deceived' by the small waves (I never learn), and after taking
532532532

Sunny Day to a Cloudy Day
off (pre-dawn darkness), I got rolled. The problem was - I couldn't roll back up. I tried several times on each side, and, finally with one big effort - did manage to get back up. I discovered that my front deck bag had come halfway undone - and was 'anchoring' me down - prohibiting and easy roll. (After that - I stopped using my 'great' discovery of ' olive cleats ' for securing 'everything'. - Now I just use them to secure about 90%!o(MISSING)f everything) ]

Day 57 With the previous days roll (and the '93 story just relayed) on the mind - I was a bit apprehensive about launching. And, actually - I delayed my normal start due to high winds (which had switched from SSE to S overnight) - so didn't really know what to expect.
Again, the seas didn't look bad at all - and, as it turned out - it was an uneventful launch (though very wet and 'spashy')
The weather forecasters are spot on with their talk about 'fall' weather - cool nights, hot days. Though the 70's sounds warm - my body is acclimated to the tropics, and paddling w/out sun (pre-dawn) and splashy
533533533

Cape Upstart - up close
waters (Bowling Green Bay is a mess w/ S winds - a fetch of about 10 miles - long enough to create a sloppy mess) - it was almost cold. (I'll take 'this' kind of cold over the cold 'water' I had down in the Sydney stretch)
To contrast the above - by the end of the day - I had to roll to cool off from the heat (see my 'attempt' at 'capturing' the moment)
After landing at Cape Cleveland - the light house keeper came down for a talk. He said there was an old article from the early '80s about a 'canoeist' landing there - I'm guessing it was Paul Caffyn - he said he would mail me the article.

Day 58 An 'uneventul' paddle into Townsville - ther than my being 'dissapointed' about my slow progress (doing about 2 1/2 MPH Vs about 4 1/2 of the previous several days). I've grown quite accustomed to the SE winds - and when not there (in my favor) - I feel cheated. (Actually, there was a slight S wind blowing, but I was paddling due west into an 'ebbing' Cleveland Bay to Townsville)

I'm
534534534

Cape Upstart
going to spend a couple extra days here in Townsville - relaxing, scratching mosquito bites, and still trying to find a good gear bag to carry my water bags in.




Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

535535
535

Monument (Cape Upstart)
536536
536

'sloppy' surf at Cape Bowling Green
537537
537

Well up beach, over ridge - mostly out of wind
538538
538

Cape Bowling Green (near lighthouse)
539539
539

near end of day (approaching Cp Clev.) - needed to cool off (if you can't tell - you're looking at bottom of boat)
540540
540

Cape Cleveland
541541
541

Cape Cleveland
542542
542

nearing Townsville, looking back at sunrise over Cape Cleveland
543543
543

Townsville
544544
544

Magnetic Island


1st April 2009

Great Photo's
Hello Andy, I really am enjoying your travel blog. Have you had any encounters with the local wildlife? Stay safe, Linda Rackley
3rd April 2009

Andy
Hello Andy, I enjoy reading about your great adventures ‘down under’ and I’m amazed by the start times and the miles you can put in a days time. There is nothing like getting an early start. How are your kayak and your equipment holding up? With all the trips you have made before is there any additional equipment you wish had? Looking forward to your return to Florida and telling us (the less adventures) of your travels. Travel safe my friend!
10th April 2009

wildlife
No, actually I'm kind of surprised, I haven't seen a whole lot (or maybe I've kind of 'acclimated' and don't notice as much as I should). Recently have been seeing many sea turtles. No sharks (maybe a few small ones). Lots of dolphins - south of the tropics (none up here). Lots of birds - I wish I could identify them all.

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0598s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb