Surfer's Paradise: Its not just for surfers


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Surfers Paradise
February 4th 2012
Published: February 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everyone!

Being in Australia where most of the inhabitants live within 100 miles of the coast, I often feel how I have been deprived as a child. Maybe I could have been a beach bunny or a surfer dude if only I had been exposed at a young age to the wonders of beaches. I have seen so many families frolicking on the beach here on the Queensland coast. Including parents and their little children complete with child sized surf boards heading out into the waves.
But reality being what it is; I was raised in Illinois. I never even saw a beach until I was 13 and that was the frigid north Pacific. It definitely can't be compared to beautiful Australian surf where the water is so nice. Of course, we had great things in Illinois. We have ...cornfields...and snow. Lots of snow!

The point of this is only that I am not really in a position to judge the paradise like qualities of a beach. There are things that live in the ocean you know-sharks that will bite you, and jelly fish that will sting you, and plants that will eat you! Those images really interfere with my beach appreciation skills. (I am aware that I am going to have to make an effort to overcome my fear of ocean creatures if I am going to see the Great Barrier Reef later in this trip.)

But the Australians have named this place "Surfer's Paradise" and who am I to say different? Its paradise. How they can say that when there aren't any public libraries is a mystery. Surfer's Paradise is in the middle of the so called "Gold Coast." They have 5 famous theme parks here, including Sea World. Of course, famouse is relative. I had never heard of these places before I came here, but they are some of the only amuzement parks in Australia. Not having unlimited funds, I picked two to visit. Dreamworld and White Water World. At Dreamworld you can pet a Tiger and cuddle a koala. Of course you have to pay an extra fee for that. I personally enjoyed the roller-coasters and water-slides. The weather here in 'paradise' is like the jungle. Hot with 98% humidity. So it is perfect for a visit to a water park, or the beach if you like beaches. After Surfer's Paradise it is back to Brisbane to prepare for my flight to New Zealand. I am only allowed 20kg (about 45 lbs.) of checked luggage and I seriously doubt my backpack only weighs 45 lbs.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

KangroosKangroos
Kangroos

You can pet and feed this pack of kangaroos.
Saltwater CrocodileSaltwater Crocodile
Saltwater Crocodile

Saltwater Crocodiles live in freshwater too. At Dreamworld I got to see a Crocodile feeding.


4th February 2012

So you are off to New Zealnd next...
we look forward to your blogs, hopefully very informative, as we will be there in October 2012. Then we suppose you are off to Southeast Asia?
8th May 2012

Great
Nice very informative.. That's right Surfers Paradise is not just surfers, there are lots of things to do or enjoy. Surfers is indeed a paradise for all types of travelers. Get a nice and relaxing accommodation in Circle Skyrise. Feel the fun on the Theme Parks and delight yourself is shopping, eating, etc..

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb