St George - Mud, Jagermeister, Rodeo, Horses, Lots and lots of cotton and a few people hidden in the bush!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » St.George
May 13th 2011
Published: May 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well it all started on feb 6th 2011....... I had a job on a cotton farm outside of St George after only 2days of job hunting and was on the longest train journey I have suffered yet! I arrived in Moree and was met by Julieanne and her mother (who was also on the train) and we began the (what they call a short trip but is like travelling across england!) road trip towards St George. In the middle of nowhere, an oncoming car (which seems to be a rare thing out there!) started veering towards us, forcing us off the road and then stopped in the middle, full beams glaring and the guy was passed out in his yute..... I was ok until Julieanne and her mother began to get a bit worried thinking he may be going to mug us or whatever so phoned the police. The phone died so we carried on driving whilst the police turned up at home looking for julieanne worrying everyone! When we got back, I was shown into my little donga (now known as the shit shack after the mice have ruined an already delicate place! Wonder if they'll use it on the bonfire for the end of picking party?!) and spent the night not sleeping too well with frogs singing alllllll night......
Well after that I settled into my job, watering the crops, having snake issues (I was certain a King Brown was hiding in every syphon pipe waiting to bite me!) but only really finding mice and frogs in them. A few days of tractor driving in the new paddocks and general odd jobs around the yard and house kept me going until I had to get every single syphon pipe in from the few thousand acres of paddocks (what we back home call fields!!). I had a new guy move in with me, only to leave 4weeks later as he just made very little effort to fit in and avoided meeting people etc - his loss, my gain, because my next roomy was this off his rocker awesome canadian guy - Brandon..... Between him and my crazy swedish Linda from next door, things became much more interesting. Non-stop laughter and excessive booze (well just the jagey and rum became excessive!) and a general fun atmosphere :D A few of the more memorable times I'll put up here, the rest, well I've probably forgotten as my memory has deteriorated greatly in recent weeks! So, the 10 most memorable things from St George (in no particular order of course)
1. The Donga Veranda - me, Linda and Brandon spent many a night on here chilling out looking at the stars and chatting mostly a lot of rubbish (I'll mention here for their benefit - Im crispy, no wait, Im armaggeddoned!)
2. The Speedys Balcony and The Deaf Kitty - Speedys new pet goes to walk off the balcony (where many a night wa spent), everyone shouts woah kitty, like a deaf kitty can hear! and Brandon sits doing sign language for sea turtle........
3. Andrew's not quite veranda/balcony out the back of his - killer pool.... has anyone else potted their own number as often as I have?!?!?! I think after 5games one night, I had put myself out 4 of them!! Magic bus card game - andrew got screwed by this one! Rum and coke....... Lindas mischievous face one night when she opens the freezer (knowing brandon and I had work the next day) and showing me a bottle of jagey.... well that night turned into a ridiculous one! Great fun but almost put me off kilter for the show the next day!
4. The St George Show - my first ever rodeo.... how much fun!!!! I had an inflatable hammer, a hell of a lot of rum, a tiara, and a shoe that blew out and walked all the way back with a cowboy shoe on my left foot and my ballet type shoe on my right - classy bird me! Met so many people that night inc my other crazy canadian I found one night - Maxi - and everyone from work was there inc the boss..... surprised we all looked so fresh faced the next day hahaha
5. Kathys House - sometimes hides from people (or I think that is the only reason Brandon and Co couldnt find it when I left them only 100m from it!) a bit like grimmauld place in harry potter!
6. The Bogged Car Incident (yes I know I got several vehicles bogged, but this is the infamous one!) - andrew and linda had an all nighter, i drove to town in the morning, picked mike up from the hostel (bearing in mind it had rained a LOT) and andrew said go left down the back track....so we did, super muddy but the little 2wheel drive was making it until andrew said go right go right in the muddiest stretch when we needed left.... needless to say the car became extremely bogged, extremely dirty and we realised we were extremely fucked!..... So the mud fight began, first face painting mine and lindas face, then throwing it at andrew, then andrew rugby tackling me face first into the mud for bogging his car (and possibly throwing mud at him!). After a few hours of phone calls and a trip barefoot to the main road, we finally got a tractor to pull us out! Andrew then on the way home jumped into the weir, phone in pocket - wooops!
7. The mice - I will never forget how those little fuckers destroyed the donga on a daily basis and ate through my clothes, blanket, any item of food or plastic pot left on the side, and shit everywhere..... all gone now :D
8. Jo-Jo and Sam stealing the yute from Brandon - how did you two manage that? A little road trip to the donga for chocolate, beer and orange&mango juice..... then at some point they got me stuck on the circle of life on the 4-wheeler.... Ace kids them two!
9. Cotton picking - what a great bunch of people, between mike falling off the builder, darren falling off the builder ladder, brandon falling off the module and loads of other silly shit, it made cotton picking that little bit easier than it would have been without them! "MIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIKE" - Im not sure if this was used more commonly than the C-word by matt?! haha....
10. The police station - believe it or not, I only made on visit there on my last day, and it wasnt my fault! haha an hour before my flight, my purse was stolen by some scab and then I lost my passport for a few minutes and then my boarding pass.... but at least from brisbane to sydney i got an earlier flight and upgraded to business class for free:D good times!
So that pretty much sums up St George..... I have missed out Weengallon show, Roma polocrosse practise and some others but Im sure I'll write about them one day! I had an amazing time out there, and Im going to miss people from there..... so guess what.... sorry to say to all you guys in St George, but I'll be back :D:D:D:D xxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb