Still in Roma...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Roma
December 3rd 2011
Published: December 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

NoahNoahNoah

showing off his dad's cap
Well, we're still in Roma. Yesterday was supposed to be our last day here, but Ryan's work has been delayed due to the weather. He is loving the work and learning about the specifics of asphalt. With luck we'll be ready to pack up and ship out on Wednesday, I'm not holding my breath though.

One big issue with the work delay is the impact it has on our travels. We want to be back in the land of Brisvegas a week before Christmas, so this changes our route. I think we're going to scratch the plan to travel through Surat, St George, Goondiwindi etc and just retrace our steps to Brisbane. We might get to stop and investigate Toowoomba (which would be nice) and the latest Caravan Ontour magazine has a great article listing things to do around the area.

I got my uni results back this week, I passed and I passed well, so that was an exciting day and it means that I can do study and travel.

For fun I attempted a cake in the Cobb this week. It was a butter cake packet mix and I added in white chocolate and frozen raspberries.
Cake from the CobbCake from the CobbCake from the Cobb

lopesided but tasty
Apart from not having any baking paper to line the base, which allowed the mix to leak out the bottom (removable base pan), I ended up with an ok cake... if you ignored the well browned bottom, obvious lean to one side and the hour and a half it took to cook. None of that mattered when you tasted it, very very yummy. Next test - bread.

We decorated for Christmas on Thursday. Our screen front door has tinsel and silver bead thread decorating it, there is a small Christmas tree up on the bunk bed and a santa stocking hanging up near the door for Noah. I also took part in a secret santa with a group of online mums that I know. It was fun and I really hope the recipient likes it. I've started planning the family gifts and it's fun. Not sure I'll get it all done in a week, so maybe it's a good thing that we might be returning early.

Well, time for bed. Nite.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb