motoring up the east coast


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Mooloolah
March 20th 2010
Published: March 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello from Mooloolaba!

Picking up from where i left off on my last entry, I took the trip to Nimbin which was really good despite my initial doubts. After an hour and a half drive through the Byron hinterland we arrived in the ultra hippy Nimbin which consists of about 10 shops selling exactly the same tie die clothes and folk about my mums age offering 'cookies'. The locals all look like they are 105 probably owing to the fact that they all smoke herbal remedies from dawn til dusk - not exactly a good advert! After a short time in Nimbin we headed into the rainforest to visit Paul who has a reasonably sized property with all kinds of trees and plants on the land. We stopped to sample some of his delights which included macademia nuts and star fruit. Next up was a waterfall which was very pretty and the back to Byron. Whilst in Byron, i managed to get the rest of my east coast trip sorted out so I am all sorted now until the end of April.

After Byron, it was on the road again for a one night stop over at Surfers Paradise, which, I have to say is the furthest thing from paradise! Very tacky and not a whole lot to do so i was glad to catch the bus the next day to head to Brisbane.

Brisbane is a really cool place and a nice size too. There is plenty to do there and i only saw a small part but enough to know i really like it. I was lucky enough to stay with friends of a friend so got a break from the hostels for a while. I tried my hand at barbequing which isnt for the faint hearted when you are surrounded by a zillion mozzies! I also managed to meet up with other friends of friends there too so it will be nice to go back and spend some more time there as 5 days there really wasnt enough so I have booked a flight to go back to look for work and find a flat once i finish my east coast trip.

Im now in Mooloolaba and off to the Steve Irwin zoo tomorrow - watch out for more pics of wildlife on Facebook...

Bye for now

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb