SkyDive - Mission Beach


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Mission Beach
October 30th 2011
Published: October 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Day 47, 25/10/11
Today was the big day I have been waiting for for such a long time and it has finally arrived. It was the day of my SkyDive. 14 000ft high in a tiny plane before being thrown out and free falling 10 000ft for 60seconds hitting speeds of 120mph. After the 60 seconds the parachute opens and you get pelted upwards before gently gliding to the floor. I even got a go at steering the parachute myself.
I was up at 7:15 ready to be picked up at 8:30, it was about a 10minute bus ride to the centre where we got a 5min safety briefing and all harnessed up. We then jumped onto the bus to the airport which was about 15mins away. Straight off the bus and onto a tiny 17 people plane, the plane took off and it took about 20mins to reach the 14 000ft altitude, weird that - since it only took about 5-7mins to do it in reverse.
The SkyDive itself was one of the best things I have ever done in my life, it was a horrible feeling as the force against your body was extremely strong and it was very difficult to breath but it was also an amazing feeling at the same time, probably something my body will never feel again. The parachute part was a nice and relaxing but still quite scary as I was just floating about 4 000ft in the air. Once I hit the bottom I thanked my instructor and he went up to do it all again with the next insane customer.
It took about half an hour for my video and pictures to be processed so we went for lunch in a nearby cafe. I watched the DVD and checked out the photos back at the hostel to relieve my experience. We then hit Woolies for dinner, had dinner and planned on packing but got talking to the people in our room. Went downstairs for a cup of tea and then planned on packing but Mamma Mia was on TV so I watched that (which had more adverts than film, just like America) and never got round to packing.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0948s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb