Kroombit


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Kroombit
May 6th 2012
Published: May 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Arrived at Krooombit cattle station in time for lunch. Food was delicious had really nice veggie patties and salad. Got given a cowboy hat and neckcheif and changed into my check shirt, so felt like a real cowgirl :D Took a hike up to sunset hill. Was proper exhausting in the heat so all crashed out at the top and then got attacked by ants so went back down. We then did a goatrodeo! I was useless with the lasso but we had to get into groups on 3, and Anwen had the job of trying to catch a goat, we had a minute to try after which we just had to grab a goat by the horns, Charlotte straddled it and I grabbed the poker and pretending to brand it. Each group of 3 had to do this and the fastest group won. Needless to say this wasn't us! But I didn't really like being in the pen with increasingly angry goats so it was more fun to watch the other groups than partake! We went back to the station and had our evening meal which was again really good, and even had pudding! Dessert is so rare these days! Started on the cider, strongbow out here is much nicer than home, and I opt for the sweet one as they have a few different kinds. Got taught how to crack a whip! Its actually a lot more difficult than it looks as you have to raise it up and bring it down at the correct speeds. I kept raising it too fast and kept whipping myself in the back!! I ended up with a series of whip marks on my back but thankfully the alcohol helped numb the pain! Haha. We then all had a competition of riding a mechanical bull. However stayed on the longest got a prize! Again far harder than it looks!! I only lasted 2 seconds on my first go, and 6 on my second, and ended up with bruises on my inner thigh! We then had a go at bush dancing, which seemed a bit like line dancing, and played some drinking games that gpt pretty messy! In one round the person sitting next to you had to feed you the drink and the guy next to me just spilt it all down me so my neckcheif became a bib!! Two of the guys working here were Welsh, one from Swansea and one from Cardiff. They seemed alright and chat a chat with them but they were pretty rowdy after a few drinks. We went to sleep and got woken up at 2am by these 2 guys fighting with some of the guys off our bus and there was a big comotion right outside our room and Rob ran out to try help break it up! One of the guys would not let it drop and kept going back for more. In the morning we found out they had been sacked from Kroombit and were put on our bus to leave! On the bus with the guys they were fighting with and as they refused to make up it made for a pretty awkward journey!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb