Life moves on


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Hervey Bay
June 16th 2011
Published: June 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

sunset at Rainbow Beachsunset at Rainbow Beachsunset at Rainbow Beach

Sunset at Rainbow Beach
After my last entry that was an ode to my best feline friend, I think it's time to update the travels and focus on the journey that continues even with grief still in my heart.
I’m now in Hervey Bay, 2hours north of Maroochydore and it’s a picture perfect place to be. Unfair as it is to all those south of this sanctuary I am in, where the sun shines and the birds sing as life goes at a glacial pace, I feel blessed that I am soaking up this weather as some of you freeze your butts off enduring the winter blues. Like many other beach-side destinations I have spent time in, my mornings and late arvos here are spent exercising on the beach as my thoughts run wild with ideas and concepts that excite me, while the days include a little work, reading, going to cafes, cooking and writing. Like everyone else, life gets into a routine of sorts, it’s just this routine of mine feels right for me and has me wondering how I could ever do things a different way now.
Before arriving here I spent time in Rainbow Beach, a very small town on the coast,
sunrise at Rainbow Beachsunrise at Rainbow Beachsunrise at Rainbow Beach

Sunrise at Rainbow Beach
where I stayed in a caravan park on the river. A picturesque place although somewhat pastoral, it was quiet and peaceful and the day of solitude I had when Steve wasn’t with me, was spent lying in the back of Iris looking out the window over the water as I read. Getting there turned out to be an adventure I didn’t sign on for though. My bloody GPS (I vow never to use these things again) took me on an un-sealed road which became quite treacherous and had Iris rattling and shaking, throwing her entire contents from the back to the front, while dislodging the bike from it’s now bent rack. With no phone coverage and not a house for 45 minutes, rain and night veering closer, I was in a fit of tears as it got to the point where the GPS said ‘find a main road’...really helpful as I’m part way down an embankment, pot holes everywhere. So I reversed for 2kms up a narrow hill, shaking the entire time, until I could turn around and head back, before some young ‘P’ plater took me on another un-sealed road in my attempt to find Rainbow Beach. Let’s just
Brekky at Rainbow BeachBrekky at Rainbow BeachBrekky at Rainbow Beach

Brekky at Rainbow Beach
say what should have been a 1.5hr drive at most from Maroochydore, took 3hours, many tears and some hysterics and a very patient man at the end of my drive, seeing me arrive in that little town.
This brings me to the 9days leading up to Rainbow Beach which was spent in Byron Bay again after the previous weekend which I was also there. I meet Steve after Easter in Byron and from the moment he was in my orbit I simply new this is a man I will know for some time to come. He has come into my life in the humblest of ways, as we met at a pub, chatting over our glasses of water, surrounded by people everywhere, however he was the only one I wanted to be with. We have spent as much time together as possible, with him meeting me on the road and winding down with me in the bus and I too have spent time in his space in Byron, familiarizing myself with his world. Together our worlds blend to perfection and he makes all my days even more amazing just by being in my life. There is so much I could
Steve at Brunswick HeadSteve at Brunswick HeadSteve at Brunswick Head

Steve at Brunswick Head
say about this beautiful man, however I’m afraid I have made too many friends ‘sick’ already as I can’t stop talking about this love in my life. Suffice to say I am in love with the best man I have ever met and you will all meet him soon enough and get to know how wonderful he is. He will join me over the weekend here in Hervey Bay as we explore this town and after that I head north to Bargara and then further up the coast where Steve will again join me for a week of new adventures.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

In love at Brunswick HeadsIn love at Brunswick Heads
In love at Brunswick Heads

In love at Brunswick Heads :-)
Me at BangalowMe at Bangalow
Me at Bangalow

Me at Bangalow
Dinner in ByronDinner in Byron
Dinner in Byron

Dinner in Byron
More of sunset at Brunswick HeadsMore of sunset at Brunswick Heads
More of sunset at Brunswick Heads

More of Sunset at Brunswick Heads


17th June 2011

I can not possibly express to you how very happy I am for you. May your journey be everything you wish for and more.

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb