Shine on Hervey moon


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Hervey Bay
November 9th 2006
Published: November 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

People come to Hervey Bay for 3 main reasons - whale-watching (the season finished a couple of days ago), access to Fraser Island, and (latterly) house-buying, due to it being the next underdeveloped stretch of coast heading north from Noosa. It's inconveniently laid out in a sprawl of originally separate suburbs, such that end to end is a good 7km. Quite why it's pronounced "Harvey Bay" is a question I can't answer.

My reason for coming was purely as a base from which to visit Fraser Island. With a cold looming on the horizon, and my intention to dive at Rainbow Beach in a couple of days' time, my Hervey Bay diet was 90% Strepsils. I'd been warned that the place was sub-Airlie Beach in terms of backpacker behaviour but I didn't see or even hear of anything approaching that level of grimness.

The beach is supposed to be one of the highlights of Hervey Bay, but with the moon being full the tides were high and I never seemed to be near the beach when it was anything other than covered in water. An esplanade stretches the full length of the seafront, providing a pleasant place to walk,
BeachBeachBeach

At high tide
and one evening I even saw a possum in the moonlight. A short pier reminded me of home, though the sea was considerably warmer, stiller, and clearer than the waters lapping around Saltburn Pier.

As perhaps is obvious, I really can't think of anything of interest to say about the place.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0288s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb