Ocean Freedom Tour- Great Barrier Reef!!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Great Barrier Reef
June 18th 2012
Published: June 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hiya,

Well today we were up at 6am to walk to the Esplanade to board the ferry out o the Great Barrier Reef. It was a lovely morning- not too hot!! So we got onboard and we stayed upstairs. We helped ourself to the buffet breckie and just enjoyed the lovely trip, which took a little over an hour. Coffee in hand, fresh air in the lungs... perfection!!

So we arrived at the spot and some of us went snorkling. The crew were brilliant- so helpful and informative. They went through everything to make it alot easier for those of us who were a bit nervous!

We ahd hired out an underwater camera and seriously the best 60 bucks we ever spent. The photo's we took were unreal- just amazing. We also took a good few video's. Can't wait to show all or friends and family the amazing creatures and plantlife that we saw.

We snorkled for over half an hour here and Mike seemed to be having a great time. He really got the hang of breathing. Even though I did it in Thailand and Whitsundays, I find it re3ally hard to just breath through my mouth. The crew were great though and showed me a great tip- hold by nose and then i have to rely on my mouth!! So ater a while I got the hang and actually got to swim a good bit further! I was delighted to see Nemo and lots of batt fish. They loved the charms on my pandora!! haha.. It was awesome!!

Next we drove to another part of the reef and we went scubadiving. I was so aprehensive about this.

(a) I've never done it before

(b) I'm nervous with my breathing and enclosed spaces

(c) I'm scared the oxyden tank will run out.. stupid i know!!

So we get kitted out and ouyr instructor goes through everything. A girl padi instructor takes me and Mike down. She practises a little with us and I find it very difficult getting my breathing sorted, so she helps me and eventually we are ready. I am so frigghtened as i have weights around my tummy, which for me means DANGER... but anyway I am here in the GBR- one of the 7 wonders of the world so I tell myself I will give it a go!!

After a couple of false alarms where I panic and signal the instructor to let me back up to the surface, eventually I relax and am so happy that I do. I have no words to describe it. This does not happen very often but seriously Phenomenal- awesome- amazing etc... all the cliches. Just perfect. We took the most amazing footage. The coral, the fish, the baby sharks, turtles everything was just enbelievable!!

We go on a glass bottomed boat and again spot some awesome under water life. I am high on happiness... lots of adrenalin running through my body.

We do a snorkel after a huge and yummy lunch!!! We atke some more great snaps and vidos. We go to a tiny beach in the middle of this amazing ocean!!!

We head home- full of amazement...

Heading to Cape Tribulation tomorrow. But this has defo been the highlight of my trip... Until Wednesday.. xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb