The GREAT Barrier Reef. THE highlight I expect of the whole trip.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Great Barrier Reef
November 8th 2011
Published: November 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

All I can say is today was AMAZING.

One of the guys warned us that it wouldn't look as bright as you see in pictures due to the lack of red light or something but it was still breath takingly colourful. Hard to describe.
We saw so many fish (although no Nemo fish, turtles or Reef Sharks, only disappointment) and corals that were just beautiful.

We just snorkelled but because its so shallow your still in amongst it all. I tried to dive but due to my annoyingly "precious" ears I couldn't. The pressure was too bad, they wouldn't equalize/pop and I couldn't ignore it, felt like something might burst. So only slight gutting thing. Chloe couldn't dive either as she ticked that she's had asthma so atleast we were in the same boat.

I really lost myself, went so far out but I could have been there all day. So much to look at.

One of THE best experiences of my LIFE.

We hired an underwater camera and I took loads of pictures but you may have to wait for them as I'm running out of time on the internet and I don't really want to pay another $4 for an hour.

Very burnt and being eaten alive by bugs (13 bites and counting...I'm currently being bitten constantly whilst writing)

x

Advertisement



9th November 2011

Get some Deet you nutter. Best insect repellant in the world. Get at least 50% deet and you won't be bitten again... i know i am usually a feast for mozzies. Am loving the blog, chuckling away to myself, sounds like you are having a great time. Keep up with the updates xxxxxx

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb