Beenleigh, Carbrook and Cleveland


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cleveland
May 25th 2012
Published: June 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

We spent a day chilling out in our van in Beenleigh (we lost the war on condensation again that night!) and were lucky enough to be in town for the District Cane Festival & Street Parade. The festival has been held in Beenleigh for over 60 years and we watched the endless stream of floats, bands and marchers make their way along the high street. Before we left, Dean got a fantastic deal on an awesome surf board in the local pawn shop.Now we just need a good surfing beach!



We were so excited to be catching with our friends Mel and Timmy who live in Carbrook. On our arrival, we were eagerly greeted by the gorgeous and energetic Frankie. I have switched from being a cat person to being a dog person, and I want one! What a commitment that would be though… certainly not one that is compatible with to our nomadic lifestyle.



We had a lovely time with Mel, Timmy and Frankie, visiting the boatshed café, the pub, watching ‘The Departed’ (I think I need to watch it again to really get it!) and eating home cooked meals. I really enjoyed that roast pork dinner. Yes, I eat pork now! Only lamb and beef to go, although I expect that might take a little while. Thanks for having us guys. And thanks for taking delivery of my new camera. I love it and am enjoying taking photos again. PS. I was VERY tempted to abduct Frankie but as he gets car sick, that wouldn't have worked so well for us!






Before making our way to Brisbane, we stopped in at Cleveland and cycled around the area. It’s a nice, upmarket town with an array of big houses and a relaxed vibe.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0895s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb