Carnarvon Gorge & The Big Walk


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Carnarvon NP
September 20th 2011
Published: September 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

18-9-11 big day today, we were only going to go to the Art Gallery Gorge, we decided to go to the furthest point then see the walks on the way back (14km return). We reached the Art Gallery in 1 ½ hours & felt pretty good, so we pushed on to the Cathedral Caves, another 4 km on (22km return). The track was pretty good to the Art Gallery, but after that was a lot of creek crossings & rough tracks. We reached the Cathedral Caves after 3 hours of walking. It was well worth it. The Cave was spectacular. Den pushed on & did the Boowinda Gorge, I could not walk ant further as I knew we had to do the return walk. We were both hurting & my feet were burning, but after getting my feet wet at the creek crossings I did not care, I just walked through the water, bugger the sneakers & the stepping stones. At least my feet were cool. On the way back we saw the Art Gallery, Wards Canyon, we missed the Amphitheatre, then we reached the Moss Garden & I could not do the 1.2km walk, so I rested & Den did it. We walked the 3km back to the visitor centre (never so glad to see it). We are suffering now; both of us (thank God for pain killers). But it was good; we will have an easy day tomorrow. Den walked 22km & I did 20km, it’s off the bucket list.


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0857s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb