Cape Trib: Exotic fruit farm and Great Barrier Reef


Advertisement
Published: July 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

cape_trib


reef_1reef_1reef_1

reef_1
My vacation time has started just the day after I have submitted my last exam for MBA. A few weeks before I organized a 2 week's stay for wwoof-ing (= willing workers on organic farms) at an organic fruit farm amid the rainforest at Cape Tribulation (http://www.capetrib.com.au). When I arrived at Cairns I was very pleased by the pleasant climatic conditions here.... similar to the Mediterranean! A bus shuttle service took me and a few other relaxed guys up to Port Douglas first, and then to Cape Trib. First we enjoyed Port Douglas for 1/2 a day, and then headed northwards on a winding road deeper and deeper into regions of no (or nearly no!) human civilization. I was welcomed at Digby's and Alison's place and shown my lodge (with veranda and own bathroom) where I would stay for the next 2 weeks, - amidst the rainforest with its animals and plants. Amazing! Alison and Digby live a simple but nevertheless very rich life here. They started from scratch at this place with their orchard and fruit tasting, built their own little house/farm and all the amenities on their own, and live a humble life here! My duties (if you really
reef_2reef_2reef_2

reef_2
could call it like this!) often started only at 8:30 with taking the dog(s) to the beach. Afterwards my jobs were manifold: pruning and harvesting banana trees, shovelling small ditches, cracking coconuts for making jam out of it, plucking sapote on trees filled with green ants, etc. After this being my first wwoof-ing experience I can really really recommend it, - and I will definitely do it again! At around 1 or 2 pm my work was done for the day, and I had time to enjoy time at this peaceful strip on earth with taking walks at the beach or the rainforest, exploring pristine waterholes, sea-kayaking around the headland, sipping a coffe at a small take-away, a night walk exploration of nocturne animals, a snorkelling trip to Makay reef, etc.. Cape Trib was surely one of the few places I could imagine settling down!



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

reef_3reef_3
reef_3

reef_3
reef_4reef_4
reef_4

reef_4
reef_5reef_5
reef_5

reef_5
reef_6reef_6
reef_6

reef_6
reef_7reef_7
reef_7

reef_7


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb