Meeting the Relies


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
April 10th 2010
Published: April 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today’s the day we had arranged to meet up with my Cousin Steve and his son (my cousin once removed?) Derek. Steve has been living out in Australia since he was 19 (a very, very long time ago), and the last time we met up was when he was over in England about 20 years ago, when Derek was about 6 and blond.

We persuaded them that it would be a good idea to have a drink in a pub, even though they don’t drink alcohol - this was so that we could say that we did actually get to have a beer in an Australian Hotel before we left.

And then we caught up! It was really lovely to see them both and find out what they were up to - and we can only hope that they thought the hour and a half journey from Atherton to Cairns was worth it to meet us - I’m saying that because I know he’ll read this bit!! But really, thanks Steve - it was good to meet up!

Otherwise we’ve had a really lazy day - the sun is shining brightly to make up for being so absent earlier in the week, and the humidity is off the chart (well, it’s off my chart anyway!) Best of all, we’ve finally worked out how to turn on the air con, and I think I’ve moved into the pool!

Finally, ever wondered what the top brand of cheese is in Australia? Well, according to the back of this pack, "Australians don't say cheese, they say ..." Let's hope the ones in Shepherd's Bush don’t!


Advertisement



12th April 2010

COON
Indeed it was nice to catch up.. If I hadn't seen the earlier pictures in this Travel blog I may not have recognized Valerie, her hair was shorter than I remembered :) Re: COON "The cheese is said to be named after its American creator Edward W. Coon of Philadelphia, who patented a method, subsequently known as the Cooning process, for fast maturation of cheese via high temperature and humidity. Former manufacturer Kraft, and later Dairy Farmers, have vigorously defended the trademark." I do recall having a a good belly laugh when I first came to Australia and seeing the trademark name. Incidentally, the most popular regular cheddar cheese these days I think is BEGA Cheese, though don't quote me - I rarely eat the stuff. Though Dairy Farmers would never admit it. Steve

Tot: 0.186s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 59; dbt: 0.14s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb