Pacifico Project is Complete!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
August 1st 2008
Published: August 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

El Pacifico

Sadly this mapping program isn't used to people trying this. Please scroll the map towards the Pacific to see my route outlined!

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
Disco Fever?Disco Fever?Disco Fever?

No! Clive celebrates crossing the Pacific on the bow. 1 ocean down, 2 to go!
NOTE: Please let me know if the two videos above worked well. If so, I will capture more.

"Mayday, Mayday! We're struck a reef! We're taking on water quickly..."
- Somewhere near the Wallis Archipelago


The last 1000 miles of the Pacific, the home stretch in the little adventure that has become known as the Pacifico Project, is complete.

I am happy to announce that I arrived to Cairns, Australia. It has been a voyage of over 9,000 km that has lasted over 7 months and has brought me more than 1/3 around the planet. I have sailed across the world's largest ocean.

An Ocean of Dreams

In almost every harbour across the Pacific, there are broken yachts. They are filthy, falling apart, and every day lying a little lower in the water. Untouched for months or even years, they are like grey ghosts hovering about on their anchorages. They are the last decaying evidence of someone's dream. Someone made it this far, and for whatever reason, they left and the boat didn't. I find myself captivated by the grey ghosts.

They are a powerful symbol of the Pacific. This ocean is in many ways
Before the PacificBefore the PacificBefore the Pacific

Red hair, white skin and a little green.
a graveyard of dreams and these are the tombstones.

It took 8 boats to get me here. Of them, one never even left the Caribbean, and I doubt ever will. Another is sailing back to North America having accomplished only a small portion of the original dream but no doubt he's accomplished and learned what was out there to discover - about the world and himself. Another flew back home and will return to his boat next season - living out his life with gusto - having been diagnosed with terminal cancer several years ago. His story inspires me the most. The rest are out there, somewhere, sailing west into the sunset. For whatever their reason, and at whatever their pace.

Another friend lost his $100,000 carbon mast on the last passage. There were no injuries, but hopefully his dreams of sailing around the world are only delayed.

Another struck an uncharted reef and managed to send out a mayday before sinking, 450 km from Australia. Our friends aboard were winched onto an Australian coast guard helicopter within 4 hours.

The owner of one of the boats I was on, who had always dreamed of sailing
Cody and ZachCody and ZachCody and Zach

In Panama
around the world, was diagnosed with cancer halfway through the Pacific. He flew home from Tonga and died just last week. He may have waited a little too long to completely live out his dream, but he made the big step to try and that is the far more admirable part of it.

My current boat has pulled out and sailed east to New Zealand, so I decided to stay in Australia. It was a very emotional and difficult decision for me to make, but I'm once again continuing west!

I think need another ocean.


Ahead lies the bottleneck called the Torres Strait. Basically all that wind and water I've been riding on gets pushed through a tiny gap between Australia and Papua New Guinea - and that's where I'm headed (once I find a new boat!).

We'll find out way in, and popping out the other side, a new ocean awaits! Stay tuned for the next project....


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Rob and CliveRob and Clive
Rob and Clive

in Panama
Down with Ecudorian CorruptionDown with Ecudorian Corruption
Down with Ecudorian Corruption

Long story, but I call this piece of art "El Ecuador Corrupto"
My Favourite Sunrise PhotoMy Favourite Sunrise Photo
My Favourite Sunrise Photo

Taken from the absolute middle of nowhere.
I didn't give Bora Bora enough credit!I didn't give Bora Bora enough credit!
I didn't give Bora Bora enough credit!

So here I am, setting things straight. It really is quite beautiful.
Go West Young Man... Quickly!Go West Young Man... Quickly!
Go West Young Man... Quickly!

If a boat could strut, Akoya would.
My Pal DarioMy Pal Dario
My Pal Dario

We will meet again, friend.
Rainy DaysRainy Days
Rainy Days

Some days it's better to just stay in bed.
Graveyard of DreamsGraveyard of Dreams
Graveyard of Dreams

The end of the road for many.
Christmas on the Date Line?Christmas on the Date Line?
Christmas on the Date Line?

Clive, Joanne, Mandy and Andre rock the line! 180 Degrees Longitude. July 25, 2008
Rocking the LineRocking the Line
Rocking the Line

Clive makes wearing extremely hot clothing in tropical heat look COOL
Lyall Loves BoobiesLyall Loves Boobies
Lyall Loves Boobies

Not everyday they land in your lap.
The Land Down UnderThe Land Down Under
The Land Down Under

A few billion years in the making, Australia waited patiently for our arrival.


20th August 2008

Hey!
Love the videos and photos! Keep them coming!! Safe and happy travels, always, take care and keep smiling! :) Cynthia
20th August 2008

thanks
Clive, until I can set out on my own adventure, thanks for sharing yours - it is awesome to hear. Enjoy! ~S~
23rd August 2008

Friends and Travellers
Oh, how touching, and how fleeting Life can be. Atleast your fellow travellers knew the value of going for the Gusto, and that is what I always sat, but not with one word..but it's appropo... Enjoy Life, and do live your wish, don't worry , just go. Thanks for your Inspiration, Clive, I hope it gets to more people, and that one day they'll understand that we live for them as well!
26th August 2008

Hola Clive!
The videos were great Clive! We had a good view / idea of what the trip is like, and what living on the boat is like. I can't imagine trying to cook on the moving stove (yes - it is everything else that is moving, actually, but still...) - especially after a wobbly pop or two! Anyway - Jason and I are busy here - less than 5 weeks to the wedding, and still there is so much to do. Keep posting! Jess

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb