Star Mop Seller!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
August 20th 2006
Published: August 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well its been a while since I last wrote here, so this is gonna be a long one!

Left Airlie Beach on the Wednesday, and we drove south towards Hervey Bay, which is the stop off to do Fraser Island. Along the way, the boys agreed to stop off in Yeppoon, which is just outside Rockhampton. There I met up with family who I'd never met before - Jenni, who I reckon I've worked out is my second (or third?!) cousin, her partner, Mick and 3 of her kids - Sam, Wade and Charli. Unfortunately due to time restrictions, I only hung around with them for a couple of hours, but it was pretty amazing to meet family who previously I never knew existed!

Heading on, we ran out of time to get to Hervey Bay that evening, so we stopped in a town called Agnes Water, just by Town of 1770. Stayed in a funky hostel, but as I was in a rush I left early in the morning to head to Hervey. Left Pat and Cam in Town of 1770, and Dave headed to Brisbane to meet up with a girl he befriended. Arrived in Hervey Bay
Whitehaven BeachWhitehaven BeachWhitehaven Beach

Words aren't necessary
and headed to a hostel called Fraser Roving. First thing I did was book my trip for Fraser Island the next day. Fraser Island is the worlds largest island comprised only of sand. You can only get around on this island in a 4WD. I booked a 3 day/2 night self drive tour. Later that evening I met up with my tour buddies, and found out that I was to be one of only two drivers - excellent stuff! It meant that I would get to do a large proportion of the driving on the island, which I thought was pretty cool.

We headed to Fraser first thing, and discovered that the 4WD we would be in was PINK and called Wobby. Doesn't exactly suit my macho image!!! Would later find out that it was a novelty - most of the 4WDs that other people travel with were white - at least we had no danger of losing ours, and we were easily recognisable!

Fraser Island was amazing. Driving around it in the 4WD was a great experience, and we only got stuck in the sand twice! The whole group got on really well and we managed to
Meeting FamilyMeeting FamilyMeeting Family

Going clockwise: Moi, Mick, Jenni, Charli, Wade and Sam
pack a lot of stuff in - Lake Wabby, Lake Mackenzie, Indian Heads, and a couple of other places which I can't remember the names of. We also saw a dingo on the beach on one day - had a couple around the campsite after we went to bed, but didn't actually see those - probably a good thing!

After Fraser, I hung around in Hervey for two more nights before making my way to Brisbane. Arrived in Brisbane on the Tuesday evening. Checked into a new hostel, Banana Benders Backpackers on the Wednesday. Through this hostel I managed to pick up some work at the Brisbane Ekka - a huge festival they have annually. Just yesterday I did the last shift after having worked 10 straight days, for 10 hours every day (except for Friday when I went home ill). Work was pretty tiring, but good fun. Worked for a company called Exception, selling mops! Yes, thats right - mops! The company is one of those companies who you see selling their stuff on TV - they do all sorts of things like revolutionary mops, massagers, pillows, pens, pasta makers, etc. Worked with a great bunch of people,
Fraser Island groupFraser Island groupFraser Island group

In the background is Lake Wabby
and have been offered longer term work with them. They travel around various parts of Oz working at different exhibitions, festivals, etc selling their products. They've asked me to go to Adelaide with them in a week or so, so I may well say yes. Its a great way to see a bit more of the place, extend my stay, and of course earn a bit of money, whilst they pay for my travel and accommodation. Should know in the next couple of days if I will be staying longer.

For now, I'm heading to Byron Bay on Tuesday - looking forward to that, as I've heard so many good things about it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

View from Indian Heads, FraserView from Indian Heads, Fraser
View from Indian Heads, Fraser

As beautiful as the water looks, you can't swim there as Tiger Sharks patrol the area
Driving on the beachDriving on the beach
Driving on the beach

The beach has multi uses - a beach, a road and an airstrip all in one!
The group and our 4WDThe group and our 4WD
The group and our 4WD

This was our group and of course, our pink 4X4!
Whale watchingWhale watching
Whale watching

One of only 5 pics I got before my camera battery died!
Star Mop Seller!Star Mop Seller!
Star Mop Seller!

See - I really was selling mops!


31st August 2006

Hi Gareth Who'd have thought you'd find your vocation-mop selling!! Good on you! It all looks beautiful , the especially the beaches. Keep having fun, at this rate you'll still be there when Scott arrives. Don't blame you, it sure looks better than here. Well off to eat lunch, take care Auntie Pen and co.xxxxxx

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb