Brisbane with Ian Hiscock May/ June 2012


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
June 23rd 2013
Published: June 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Me and Ian Me and Ian Me and Ian

2 Isle of Wight boys in Aus
Now Ian Hiscock is one of 2 twins from the Isle of Wight and they are or were both crazy as kids .

Ian moved back to his homeland Australia around mid 80´s and Ive not seen him since But thanks to Facebook we have been in touch the last few years .

We were going to meet up in Bali back in 2011 but it never happened but this time it was to be no problem

A short flight from Sydney to Brisbane and I was there , Ian picked me up in his big 4x4 and he was proud of it ! The bugger has nt changed a bit since I last saw him 25 years ago and it was if it was only the other month that we had seen each other .

Ian is a miner in Aus and earns a fortune ! His house is immense , a castle amongst castles and his partner Sherrie a typicla Aussie lass , great fun and bubbly just suited to Ian .

Their hospitality was great plenty of food , beer and laughter , we spent ages catching up and talking about the old
BirdBirdBird

Some Aussie bird
days, this was weird , a real nice change to the last months of being annoymous around the world now to be amongst friends.

Obvioulsy we got drunk lots of times and went to a Aussie football match which is impossible to understand but a great day out .

I stayed about a week as Ian had to go back to his shift work and he drove me the 4 hours to Harvey Bay to my cousins Martin.

Ian was insistant that I returned before I left Aus so I did later .

It was again a funny feeling this time meeting my cousin Martin again . Cousins are vey close as kids but drift apart as adults I had nt seen Martin since the late 80´s and again as with Ian it was if we had only seen each other the other week .

Martin settled in Aus about 5 years ago with his wife Sarah and 3 kids Brendon, Blake and Leyton. A lovely house in a lovely area.

Martin is not a drinker but an outdoor fanatic , so this was great . lovley walks and climbing mountians Mt Walsh was
KangeroosKangeroosKangeroos

First time ever seen one
a mega climb and shagged me to the bones but for him it was a day stroll

I spent most days cycling , exploring the bay , it was great I felt free and at home .

We used to go to the beach at dusk and watch the bats migrate to the frazer island , these bats were like flying cats , massive and the sky turns dark as millions of them just bugger off across the bay every dusk .

After a week or so it was time to leave , I wanted to go to surfers bay to see what was meant to be amazing beaches . So I got a train and off I went .

Getting a taxi is a nightmare in Aus , you cant get one of the street you need to order one, but difficult when your a stranger intown and have no number plus its middle of the night but I managed to copy the number from a passing taxis door , but then he asked me where I was and put the phone down on me when I said Im not to sure ! Aussies are
CousinsCousinsCousins

Me and Martin
nt the most politest of people !

Surfers bay is ok if I was 20 years younger and if it was summer not winter then it would have been a paradise .

Ian came and picked me up a few days later and off to Brisbane again !

Had a great time in Brisbane , full of food and beer , but soon It was time to move this time just across the water to New Zealand.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Amazing viewsAmazing views
Amazing views

Long way down


24th June 2013

amazing you are back to writing. may be you will finish blogging your journey after all :) great cousin you got, at least he presented great scenery, what was missing on your blogs about Australia. best wishes
24th June 2013

Thanks ! Yes I have been busy just lately here in Argentina ! Thanks for your comment : )

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0655s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb