Tan line mayhem and Sydney planning


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
January 20th 2013
Published: January 20th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Armed with Debbie and Jeremy’s suggestions (which is fantastic, thank you) for the must sees of Sydney I sat down to plan my visit. I have forgotten how long planning takes! Whilst looking at different tours and trips out to places like the blue mountains I looked up the event schedule for Australia day. There are so many things happening through-out the city, with the fireworks being the finale at 7pm. Whilst trawling through the whats on list I came across The Great Sydney swim. It is a 2.2Km swim in the Sydney harbour and the final of a series of swimming races for elite athletes which have occurred all across Australia. In addition the elite race, there is also a ‘mass’ event for everybody to enter, as well as a shorter 750m race and a kids event. So I have entered the mass 2.2km swim event, I can’t wait and hopefully it will be an amazing memory of Sydney!

With swim booked, and other tours and trips enquired about I decided I had better head to the pool and practise a 2.2km continuous swim. It was a lovely to be in the water in the heat….however around a 1km in I realised I was swimming in an outdoor pool, at 1pm, with no sun cream on! I subsequently speed through the rest of my swim, hoping that I wouldn’t get burnt. You just don’t have to consider things like this in the UK! Luckily enough I am not burnt, but I do now have quite an obvious tan line on my back where my swimming costume lies, which got me a raised eyebrow by a lady in the supermarket when I stopped off to get some milk on the way home…..doh!

With silly tan line now covered, Rowena and I headed to a second hand bridal gown shop nearby so Rowena could have a look and try some styles on in preparation for the big day (in 2014). There were quite a few dresses in there and Rowena picked a few out to try on. She looked very pretty in them, and we have narrowed down a few styles and fabrics she likes and dislikes which will hopefully be helpful.

Rowena and I headed to yoga at 4pm which was good, though I definitely drifted off a few times in the relaxation section at the end! Matt got home around 6pm, we all had dinner together, and then I managed to have a quick catch up with Leonnie which was fantastic before updating the blog for you all to read. I am now off to bed, so good night.

Advertisement



21st January 2013

Sydney planning
Hi Kate, You are more than welcome :)) What a shame we didn't know about the swim when we were there (not). I do not know where you get all your energy from, might go and have a lie down after reading all what you have been up to and have planned. You will have an amazing time. Debbie xx

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb