Saturday afternoon and the sun is shining!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
February 28th 2009
Published: February 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So its Saturday, 12.23 in the afternoon and the sun is beating down on Brisbane, I think its time for a swim soon 😊!! Anyway the last couple of days have been very nice and relaxing, on tuesday I spent the whole day chilling by the pool and catching the rays- in the evening I was able to finally meet Clair's boyfriend Matt who has very similar tastes to me so we hit it off straight away. Anyway Wednesday was very nice as I travelled into Brisbane city centre with Clair to see some of the sights- we walked around the botanical gardens, and some of the shopping centres before hitting the gym with Matt, in the evening I was able to meet Mitch and Emma for the first time who both seem really nice kids!! Thursday and Friday were very similar: Thursday I spent talking to the family on skype in the morning, in fact Sarah woke me up at 6.40 so she could speak with me- wasn't too happy but hey thats what little sisters are for right? So we spent 2 hours 40 minutes catching up and telling stories while i was trying to wake myself up properly. In the afternoon me and Mick ventured out to play golf, in which I had to play with a set of 40 year old clubs, as you can imagine I didn't play very well and was slightly handicapped- but don't tell Mick that!! Onto Friday and this was my first real taste of the job Mick does- he took me out with him to a little town called Beewah to install a paging system for the local firestation. Although the electrics and engineering are complex it was great to learn a bit about what Mick does. Anyway we were planning on heading out to lunch but the traffic was terrible so we decided to head back home, this is when Mick suggested we play another game of golf as it was only 3 in the afternoon- how could I say NO!! He took me to a beautiful rural course which is about 20 minutes from their house, this time it was much more even as I was able to share Micks clubs and yes the outcome was very different- I ended up beating him by 2 shots. Mick even said if I hit the fairway on one of the hardest holes on the course he would buy me a beer that night, I duly abliged and he bought me a beer when we headed out for dinner in the evening to the local steakhouse.
Anyway thats the last 4 days in a nutshell and like I said its been really relaxing but expect next week to be a little more packed with activities. Thank you to everyone who has been keeping a tabs on my journey across the world and also for the support and comments that have kept me close to home. I hope you are all enjoying the brief spells of sunshine back in the UK, so until my next entry take care of yourselves xx

Advertisement



28th February 2009

Sounds hectic at your end!!!!!!!!!!!!
Hi there Son, not sure if your Blog entries are inteded to make us green with envy, but they are! Swimming in the middat sun, golf at a whim and beers on tap, I can hear Mick now saying 'it doesn't get any better than this Matt'. Saturday here in Newbury has been good, we have managed to garden, put some colour with some plants on a hanging basket, prune and yes 'cut the grass'. Mom has been homemaking with new curtains for the lounge which are groovy, we have watched some sport which has been poor, Wolves keep going backwards and Ireland beat England by one point and the game was both ugly and didn't really liven up until the last 10 minutes. It was great to Skype and chat again, and it looks like we have finally managed to sort the Bank problems you have been experiencing which have been frustrating to you and us, Laura the lass in Halifax was really helpful, and at last we got some decent customer care from the 'people who listen!'. All in all, it has been a pretty high acheivement day, with good opportunity to relax. I am feeling I need a game of golf, so will be contacting my play mate Andy as there has not been much 'play' with work being so busy. Mum has now finished her first month in the new job and things are going well and beginning to settle into a pattern. The girls are missing you, but we are enjoying 'living the experience' with you. Sending a big hug, hope the rugby tomoz is enjoyable and that Brissie win for Mick and Fi and all the guys at the game. Will catch up tomorrow on Skype, make sure you get enough sleep so that you can keep up with all that is going on!! Until the next time, lol Daddy B x
1st March 2009

Brisbane is great
So glad you are enjoying Brisbane . My rellies live there so I have spent some time staying with them some years ago. Glad you got to the Botanical gardens, amazing colours of plants. If you can, take a boat ride (old paddle steamer)down the river , you get an amazing view of the city from there. Anway Matt, hope you have a Grade A every day!! (Strine for great day!!) God bless, Lesley x
4th March 2009

Time for an update methinks!
Hi there Matt, am writing with a request to get blogging again, so that your followers can live the experience with you. BIG relief around the Molineux following a 3 pointer at the Palace last night. We saw pictures of Neil Warnock looking thoroughly miserable (like a drowned rat!) as it was tipping down, cold and squally. Not the Roland one I presume that Unc Clive was referring to, as he seems to have moved on to a different place! He apparantly was not impressed with the pen. decision, as for us it was a joy to listen to Ebanks slot it neatly across the sodden turf into the corner. Things are good at home, Colin and Joyce are moving into your bedroom towards the end of the month, don't worry we have given it a good old 'Ousting!!! You are missed, and all of your previously held records on the Wii are quickly falling to aspiring ski jumpers and atheletes, Mommy B is now officially a professional Ski jumping champion! Sending a hug, and get blogging mate, Daddy B. x

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb