Brisbane 28/11-1/12


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
December 1st 2008
Published: December 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Me and kirsty stayed with my relatives for the four days we were there. On the way to their house we stopped off at mount coot-tha which had a lookout point over the whole of brisbane. This was a really nice way to be introduced to the city.

After we got unpacked at their house we took a quick walk around the area before having takeaway pizza, a glass of wine and watching some dvds. It was a really nice first day in brisbane.

The next day gill and mike took us out for the day. First we went to springbrook national park which has south east queensland's highest waterfall. This was a really beautiful walk and we saw quite a lot of wildlife that gill and mike were happy to share their knowledge about. We saw a cuckaborough eating and killing a mouse, a yabby (crayfish), land mullet, and a dragon (of the lizard type, not the fire breathing variety), and quite a lot of leeches. We got to stand under the bottom of the waterfall which was mighty cool and quite wet.

When we left springbrook we went to southport (a little prettier than the one in England). Here we got treated to a very nice meal where we tried our first oyster, kirsty thought it was ok but I wasn't too keen. Because they ordered ribs both kirsty and mike had to wear a bib. Just as we finished eating a big storm started up and we got inside just in time to watch it without getting wet.

The next day was a birthday celebration bbq for rob's 21st. This was really good as the food was great and I got to meet lots of members of their family who I wouldn't have got to meet otherwise. Ater the bbq we took the dog for a walk with gill, mike, and darcy. We went past a creek that has platypus in it but didn't see one although kirsty spotted a turtle.

On our last full day there we went to the southbank beach which is a really good family spot and very pretty, especially considering it is in the middle of the city. After this me and kirsty went for a climb on a climbing wall in the valley. This was great as I finally ot to use my climbing shoes that I have been carryig with me, although I was dissapointed with myself because its been so long since I last went. After this we went shoppig at indooroopilly shopping centre where we got searched 3 times because we had our bags with us.

Brisbane is a really great place and it was really good staying with family as they are very nice people and it is very good to see family when you are travelling as it has been so long since I've seen anybody I know.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



5th December 2008

Haha - I love the bib Kirsty! xxx

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0904s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb