the 3rd largest agglomeration in Australia


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
January 21st 2007
Published: January 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So I am in Brisbane...
During my trip along the east coast I met heaps of travelleres any most of the backpackers didnt like Brisbane, and most of the ozzys liked it. In my opinion its a nice compact city. You can walk through the CBD in about 30 minutes with no rush. And Bribi is not just about skyscapers. There are many old buildings in between. eg. the former treasury building and the main train station. Well 'old' again is a relative term in Oz... old means about a century.
The flair of Bribi is probably best described like this: Think of a CBD skyline like Frankfurt, close to the riverfront and embedded by slight hills, almost San Francisco like. In the surrounding i found so many lovely Quennslander style houses. Quenslander style is close to the Victorian style with big verandas and fancy designed rails, but most of the houses are raised on poles. While I drove through the country side, some of the houses were raise high enough to park your car underneath.
So after all, I would recomend to see Brisbane at least from an architectural approach.

One of the coolest days I've had during my
Brisbane SkylineBrisbane SkylineBrisbane Skyline

on the picture Im facing eagle street a need place to have an after work beer... or two or three.
trip happened here in Bribi. I got spontaniously invited to a BBQ. A guy staying in the hostel almost invited random people to come to a b-day BBQ at a friends place. Well I thought it's going to be a typical Ozzy garden party... but I was so wrong. First of all it was organized by some Irish folks, secondly it was in a skyscraper in the CBD. This 41 story appartment house has a BBQ in the 4th floor on one side of the building and on the other side was a pool and an Jacuzzi. F**king Awsome!!! Another cool feature was the window in the pool. People on the street could actually see our feet.. LOL.

On the last day I went to the Goma (gallery of modern art) I thought the ozzys want to deep freeze me like Han Solo, but I am sure its all for the art... :-? The building is part of a three building ensemble, public library and another gallery.

After Bribi I'm going to Hervey Bay.
Cu


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Brisbane ArcadeBrisbane Arcade
Brisbane Arcade

There are almost as many shopping opportunities as there are in Melbourne.
funny birds in the parkfunny birds in the park
funny birds in the park

sorry I didnt find out the name.
Brisbanes LibraryBrisbanes Library
Brisbanes Library

Here you can go online 4 free ;-) Even free W-Lan
Goma's restroomGoma's restroom
Goma's restroom

I just like the sink.


Tot: 0.307s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 24; qc: 97; dbt: 0.0872s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb